Cloudy Morning -----Sunny Afternoon---Oh Yeah!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today's ride, the grande finale in Italy, was to be 37 kms out from the hotel to the top of Mount Bondone ( Giro '07). The approach to the climb, 19 kms.,consisted of 10 kms. climbing and the rest flat. The 18 kms. of the Bondone I estimated between 6% - 7%. As I left the hotel under a mixture of sun & cloud I was already in a sweat. After 6kms. on Bondone it began to rain, a passing shower I thought. I got myself a place under some trees along a rock face. After 10 mins the thunder began to resound down the valley---under a tree---not good. The rain intensified and was soon joined by hail, bouncing high off the road----the thunder continued. After about 20 mins it all died down and stopped. It seemed like the smart thing to do was to head back down. I got on my bike and continued upwards---it's an old habit. Ten mins. later the sun broke through and I felt I was being rewarded for my decision. At 10 kms. to go a local assured me more sun was on the way. At 8 kms. to go the rain began again - slowly at first but gradually increasing along with the wind and the thunder. At 4 kms. to go I thought I could push it through regardless of the weather which was getting worse by the moment. Finally, there was the sign announcing the Bondone-----after that the road began to descend. This sign would do me. As I began my descent my problem became immediately apparent----the rain was no longer bouncing off the road , instead it was flowing down the road at 6% - 7% grade and wind had increased considerably. My problem now was 2 fold; hope the wet brake pads would let me control the speed of the bike, and not become hypothermic in my wet state with a cold wind. The brakes held, for the most part, but I did stop completely when I felt they were slipping too much. After 10 very tense,cold kms.Very cold and wet, I reached a small cafe/bar situated by a small lake. My 'Angel', Monica,(an off-duty lifeguard)was at the cafe. After a hot milk she got me a dry sweater to put on and then drove me the remaining 27kms. back to my hotel.Her English was equivalent to my Italian, nevertheless, we carried on an animated conversation using single words and gestures as Monica drafted whatever car happen to be in front of her. I felt perfectly comfortable. At the hotel she adamently refused any payment and indicated with words and gestures that she was motivated by her heart. I must have collected some very good karma along the way. So much for weather predictions!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb