Lovely Italy...last stop of an amazing summer!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
August 21st 2015
Published: October 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Finally, here we are, the last entry of nearly two months on the road. I have to admit, this summer has been a pretty fascinating one! And I'm already in the process of preparing another crazy summer holidays...coming in 2016! It's kind of fun to write this the same day the kids a starting a new week of school holidays...so more diving is coming pretty soon on travelblog!



I rented a car in Rome to go North-West. This you know already if you have read my last blog. There is a lot between Rome and San Marino. So this was an exercise in experimenting as much as I could...knowing that what ever I did, time was just not on my side. So treat this entry simply as a teaser. If there is a country in Europe where I still have to discover so much, it is Italy. And now that the Euro is finally a little down, Italy should be back over the coming years on my agenda.



So this entry could be seen as frustrating because I could go deeper in the discovery...but at the same time, it was grandiose if only by the intensity of it! I could spent two more nights in Italy. I could have jump from one place to another...but with my little ride, better stick to the same place. So the place first, the ride next!



I stay in gorgeous Spoleto, one of these little historic cities in the hilly side of Italy. It was two nights on a gorgeous room at Villa Milani....with probably one of the most astonishing view I had for a long time from my cute room. Villa Milani is just on top of the city, a gorgeous historic house with nice service, gorgeous views, and a pretty nice wine list once I'm back from hours on the road! I may be back one day at Villa Milani, but I have the feeling there is so much more to discover!



I rented a little Fiat 500 from Roma airport. Trust me, renting a car in Italy is not cheap. One my last evening, I even had the great idea to puncture a tyre after visiting Assisi. Well, changed one in the middle of nowhere in Argentina. This time I don't have Leslie to give me a hand...and it's getting pretty dark....but wheel changed in less than 15 minutes...and had to be more cautious while driving back later next morning all the way to Rome airport!



So over the time, I drove up a lot of country side roads, trying to avoid highways when I could. The hills are fun, the turns even more fun...and the car...truly fun toy. My Mum had a Fiat 500, that was something like 35 years ago, trust me, the new version of the Fiat 500 is something way more fun to drive....even if you guess it...I was not driving 35 years ago!



Than there were the gorgeous cities...Perugia, Assisi and Spoleto. I could, would, should have stopped in way more historic places, but the time was not on my side! And yet, I find some time for cool food and nice wine...it's Italy after all! And yes, time too for some shopping! No Zegna suit here, it's rather food, food and wine...all these back at home for my little family to enjoy!



So this is it, Summer 2015 is over. We are getting ready for the move of Tiffany in January 2016...and for me to juggle with 2 continents....plus few side trips for the coming few years!



But for now, it's D-4...till we go back diving with friends! Can't wait for those bubbles!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



15th October 2015

I've enjoyed following your journey around Europe...
checking off all the countries. Yes, Italy deserves a lot of time. Have fun diving at Ko Lipe!
19th October 2015

Never enough time
Italy is an amazing country and one never has enough time there.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb