Sick blizzard, Perugia...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
February 1st 2012
Published: February 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

window viewwindow viewwindow view

what a joy/shock (sarcasm with the joy thing)
I know I said I most likely wouldn’t post another blog before I went to Florence. I guess I just assumed I wouldn’t do anything in between that time, but I lied.

I couldn’t let these pictures go unshared. Today we woke up to the one form of weather I hate most: SNOW. And I’m not talking the cute flurries we had in class last night, I’m talking a blizzard. From our window we saw cars parked, covered in snow, an accident with 2 more cars and people shuffling along with umbrellas. What we didn’t see was the great view we normally get to enjoy every morning when we open our window…it was just white.

All day I have been mentally complaining and hating everyone who told me last year it snowed, but it was one flurry and the whole city shut down. Liars. (I’ll forgive them.) This is really a freak blizzard. I came here hoping I would miss out on the one season I hate, especially in New York, but I just can’t get away can I? Our professor from Bonaventure told me in his 6 years of coming here, he’s never seen this much snow. Places looked open, from what I saw, and cars still managed to drive around even though the roads are covered in slippery slush.

This kind of snow is the slushy gross snow you wear rain boots in, not the dense packed snow in New York that I wear Northface Chilkat boots in. Kids threw snowballs at every moving object, including peeps and cars. Otherwise, the rest of the Italians sat back, let roads close, didn’t shovel or plow and just let it be. Opposite of what would happen at home for sure.

Also today I booked tickets over the phone to 2 museums in Florence! Galleria dell’Accademia and Galleria delgi Uffizi. I was so proud of myself especially because, according to Rick Steves, you should book tickets to Uffizi a month in advance but I got them 2 days before! HA! So I’m looking forward to that very, very, very much.

We ended today with an hour of Tandem, talking to this Italian kid named Simon, then went out for pizza at Pizza Mediterranean which I will say was the best pizza I’ve had since being here. I got one with tomatoes, ricotta cheese (fave), eggplant and a cream-ish sauce. We got Nutella pizza for dessert! And Abby straightened my hair with an iron because that's what I must do to have straight here. Well, be back after this weekend! Ciao for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

road closed :(road closed :(
road closed :(

this is the street to our apartment
this car will be covered for agesthis car will be covered for ages
this car will be covered for ages

this alleyway outside our apartment gets no sun!


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb