Day 3 - Bike ride to Assisi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
September 10th 2015
Published: September 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Bikes in caveBikes in caveBikes in cave

Sights on Mont Subasio
Our ride today was a loop ride, with the planned highligh being Assisi. We leave the hotel at 9 AM, the "arrows down" time. Experience Plus sends one of the guides out early in the morning to draw chalk arrows along the route. We are not allowed to leave early because of the risk of riders overtaking the "chalk arrow drawer" (This would never be a problem in my case, but I go with the flow.)

Our first stop is Spello, where I visit Santa Maria Maggiore to admire the chapel painted by Pinturicchio. I meet up with Bob and Kay from Seattle and we decide to do the extra 7 mile ride leaving from Spello around Mont Subasio to Assisi. It also promises to add some elevation gain to my day. It is a mostly uphill ride on a quiet road heavily populated with butterflies - delightfu! Bob and Kay fall back, so when I stop at the remote "town" of Armenzano to refill my water bottle (not at a cemetary, there are water fountains in the towns along the way), I try to explain to the genteleman "overseeing" the fountain, that I have two (due) friends (amis- yes, I know that is french) coming behind me, but to no avail. He just wants to tell me how far I am from Assisi (9 km). So I carry on and hope for the best for Bob and Kay. We have a 2 PM deadline to meet in Assisi. I arrive in Assisi and treat myself to a gelato - frutti de bosco (mixed berries) and nocciola (hazelnut).

We have a local guide, Constantia, leading our tour of Assisi. As we are walking through Assisi, I am reminded of our family trip to Italy in 2005. We purchased a St. Francis snow globe for Rachel and I make a mental note to unpack that when I return. I also pass the overlook where we had a delicious picnic lunch 10 years ago. The highlight is the Basilica, where she gives us enlightening and detailed explanations of the most important frescoes painted by Giotto. A wonderful tour.

After the tour, there is a 13 mile ride back to Torgiano. I arrive around 5:30- a long day, but well worth it. Dinner is on our own this evening, so I head to a recommended restaurant. Another couple from the group, invites me to join them, but I politely decline, as I want to get caught up on emails and go to bed early. I also don't want to be "the single person that people feel they must invite to dinner." Being an introvert, I am thankful for the quiet time. I eat my delicious dinner and head back to the hotel for an early night.

Ciao!

Ride stats:

Miles: 47 33

Avg MPH: 12.2

Total Elevation Gain: 2,460 ft.

Food Journal:

Dinner at L'U: Appetizer - pasta with zucchini sauce, saffron and bacon ?, Main - Lamb chops with salad ?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb