Assisi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
July 9th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

July 9th, 2008

Meandering our way to Assisi - in the heart of Umbria - I realized that we would pass Modena...which made me think of Ferrari...which led me to Maranello, the home of Ferrari. We stopped in at the museum, which was very cool, and then swung over by the track and the factory, where I managed to snap a couple shots, even capturing a high-speed run of the Ferrari around the track. Now, I can't tell you which model it is...but damn, that engine sound is so sweet.

Upon leaving the museum, a roadster had parked next to me in the other handicapped parking spot. It was a Wieseman, and I've never seen one. I snapped a few quick shots, and grandmother drooled. She fell in love with it. I honestly thought she might buy it out from under the guy's nose (who we never met, sadly). Very nice. Maranello was a great little detour. I set the GPS on “avoid” highways....and the estimated time of arrival - for 225 miles - was 8:53pm...it was just after noon. Hmm. That's gonna be hard for me to handle...but we set off...touring through some countryside, and rarely hitting 40mph. After an hour, I had had enough, and changed this GPS back to fastest route, and we set off. The Italians do move faster on the highways than the Germans. A steady cruise at 85-110, and we were off, being passed frequently by people going faster. The roads were nice, and the scenery gorgeous. We have yet to figure out what they do with all of the corn they grow...it's not in their food. And there are very few animals...cows, horses, pigs, etc. I guess that explains why meat is rare. We did discover vast sunflower fields, and fruit trees (we think pears, but we're not quite positive).

Pausing for a quick bite at a local Italian Pattiserie...good lord...the food was suburb. Very, very, very nice. Good service, great food...and amazing presentation. This is what Italy is supposed to be.

Continuing to Assisi - we were amazed by the views in the Umbria region. So beautiful. At the base of the mountains, we looked up towards the city, and the view was just amazing. Ascending the hills, we found the hotel, and got situated. We walked to dinner - big mistake. Should have driven, even though we're in a “vehicle restricted zone”. Let them mess with a feisty 84yo woman with a cane, wheelchair, and a handicapped placard. :-)

Dinner was okay, but...I realized how much I'm missing my protein. Hate to say it, but I'm about tired of pasta.

The following day was relaxing and mundane. Grandmother got her hair washed at a local salon, and I caught up on a lot of trip reporting. Assisi was pretty much non-navigable for grandmother so we just stuck to the town proper. The continued frustration with service, time lines, and food was just the way it was. It was not a good BMW day...the car washed managed to put some minor marring in the paint, and I curbed a wheel on a narrow street. Damn.

Dinner that evening though, was quite good - once the restaurant opened at 8pm...not 7pm as advertised. Sigh. Oh well.




Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb