Tuscany


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
November 3rd 2004
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up the next morning to a vibrant blue sky. Bonus! The weatherman was obviously still asleep. After breakfast, I loaded up & headed south through the Chianti foothills towards Siena, the smell of harvested grapes heavy in the air. Since I was sticking to the backroads & the towns I would be going through were centuries old, I expected that the roads would also be centuries old. WOW! Was I ever wrong! The roads were fantastic! Imagine two parts Napa Valley, one part Deal’s Gap, set the blender to “liquify”. Enjoy! I did just that! The roads dipped and weaved through breathtaking scenery & this time of year there was hardly any traffic.

I make my way south through the Chianti foothills past Radda in Chianti, to the scenic walled town of Monte San Savino where I stopped for lunch.
I ate at a little bar / gelateria. It’s against my religion to eat at a McDonalds in Italy. It’s impossible have a quick meal here. If you try to get by with just one course, they look at you kinda funny. Count on spending 1 hour to have a nice meal. Well worth it!

After lunch, I make my way towards Sienna, then past the scenic towns of Colle di Val d’Elsa and San Gimignano before heading back towards the villa. What a gorgeous day it turned out to be! 70 degree temperatures and fabulous roads too! I sat on the veranda with a glass of port wine watching the sunset go from pale blue & hot pink to pale blue & crimson over the Tuscan hills.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

PortalPortal
Portal

View from inside the walls of Monte San Savino.
Apres-rideApres-ride
Apres-ride

Late afternoon back at the villa, watching the sunset.


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb