Tuscany


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
April 18th 2007
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Old BridgeOld BridgeOld Bridge

Leaving Bagni di Lucca for Mugello, I came across another ancient looking bridge.
Before I left Parma, Vitto Guareschi had invited me to a track day at Mugello. Not being no fool, I quickly took him up on his offer. It might be the closest I ever get to a Grand Prix!

Determined not to use the Autostrada, I forced myself into downtown Florence, determined to make my way north. I’m a Luddite who refuses to use such aids as GPS so I plowed ahead. Unfortunately, I ended up getting lost big time. Each time I decided to retreat to the relative safety of the Autostrada, I’d spy another sign that would only lure me deeper into its clutches. I finally gave up after about an hour and made my way north along the Autostrada to Mugello….

When they aren’t working at Papa Guareschi’s Guzzi shop, Vitto Guareschi is Ducati’s Moto GP test pilot. Nice work if you can get it. Gianfranco Guareschi races the MGS-01 for the Guzzi factory. On this day, Vitto was testing tires on a pair of new Ducati 1098s. I left Mugello at 3 p.m. as it was a gorgeous day and I wanted to get some more riding in. The hills around Mugello offer some great
MugelloMugelloMugello

The Guareschi brothers at Mugello.
roads, including the famous Paso di Futa, where Ducati test riders ride from nearby Bologna. The Paso di Futa was also part of the famous Mille Miglia road race.

The sun was getting down to that golden hour time and yet, I didn’t want to stop riding. I pressed on through the golden sunlight. Finally, around 6 p.m., I called it quits and found a hotel near the Mugello racetrack.








Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Paso di FutaPaso di Futa
Paso di Futa

The Paso di Futa, where Ducati test riders ride from nearby Bologna. The Paso di Futa was also part of the famous Mille Miglia road race.
Tuscan Mountain VillageTuscan Mountain Village
Tuscan Mountain Village

This isn't a side street. This the main road through town.


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb