Chocolate Pizza Anybody?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Vinci
June 7th 2010
Published: May 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

ViewViewView

You can see most of Tuscany from the terrace.
My family and I have just returned from a week in Tuscany. One of my great passions is food so it’s not particularly surprising that we plonked ourselves in one of Italy's many great gastronomic centres.

We ate in the same restaurant three times during the week. It serves simple but delicious food using fresh and locally sourced ingredients. The added bonus is that with sterling at an 18 month high against the Euro, it was also fantastic value. I took a photograph of the bill just to illustrate the point.

Let me talk you through it.

Firstly the setting. I honestly don’t know of a finer setting. You can see the spectacular view from the terrace restaurant in the picture on the right.

And so to the meal….

2 glasses of milk for the kids
1 beer for me
1 bottle of wine for myself and Kate (at €15 this was far and away the most expensive item on the menu)
1 Antipasto Della Casa – this is superb and comes with a tasting plate of local specialities as well as a wonderfully rich Tuscan paté – best served warm and eaten by dipping in
Chocolate PizzaChocolate PizzaChocolate Pizza

Not the most appetising pizza I've ever been faced with.
the local pizza type bread – Schiacciata.

As our daughter (5 time winner of Fussiest Eater in the World) gleefully pronounced ”Delizioso!!!”

Pizzas for the children who both gleefully pronounced it to be ”Delizioso!!!”

Ravioli with a sage and truffle sauce for me. Yes you guessed ”Delizioso!!!”

Pasta with salmon, asparagus and mushrooms for Kate. Your opinion please Kate ”Delizioso!!!”

A chocolate pizza for dessert!

The picture doesn’t do it justice but suffice to say we wolfed it down, every last morsel.......all together now

“DELIZIOSO!!!!!!”


A tiramasu for our daughter. “Dad! I don’t like it. I LOVE it!”
A bottle of still water
Total bill €66 which at today’s exchange rate of £1/€1.20 equates to just £55 for the entire family including a very good drop of wine!

As we say up here in Northumberland "Aye, it was dead canny like."


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Warm PatéWarm Paté
Warm Paté

I could have dipped all night. Fabulous.
Chocolate PizzaChocolate Pizza
Chocolate Pizza

Tastes better than it looked
The BillThe Bill
The Bill

Not bad for a slap up nosh!


Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb