Radicofani


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Radicofani
May 17th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

RadicofaniRadicofaniRadicofani

One of the old, winding streets.
So - after having a concert put on in one’s honour and sleeping in a castle, how does one fill the rest of the time in Italy? We managed just fine by driving around Tuscany and Umbria and eating until our little hearts were content.

Our days followed a wonderful pattern. I would get up early and do the BlackBerry thing (yes, I know, sad but one has to work for a living - even in Italy). Mom and Lynn would then get up and Mom would make some of that wonderful Italian coffee while we discussed lunch and dinner (the two most important parts of the day) and where we were going to visit that day. Today, we decided on Radicofani.

Before we set off, Mom and I walked around the town to do some shopping and banking. It made me remember the time I spent in Teramo. In every shop we walked into, Mom was greeted as if she were a local and she and the shop keeper would converse in Italian about the day and what she was there to buy. Everyone we met could not have been nicer and what a treat to pick out
ConfessionConfessionConfession

How do you not love a town where the entire town can confess their sins in twenty minutes?!?
fresh fruit and homemade wine to take back to the flat.

Around noon, we got underway. Radicofani is an absolutely gorgeous hill town - stunning views, winding streets and old churches popping up everywhere. In fact, the main church was hosting a funeral while we were there. I always think that it is so cool that these ancient buildings are still being used for the purpose for which they were built. Makes one believe that time really does go on.

Lunch! The restaurant was called La Grotta. I had pasta and Lynn had a mixed grill to die for. Gallons of the house white and an espresso to finish it all off. Heaven.

After lunch, we drove to the town’s castle at the top of the hill. Let me just say that I LOVE castles and this was one of the best. Old ruins to scamper around on, a tower to climb, but best of all, one was allowed to shoot a bow and arrow. Always having fancied myself as Maid Marion, I jumped at the chance. I was absolute crap - never hit the target - but Lynn was great. Hmmm Maybe she was the archer
Family PortraitFamily PortraitFamily Portrait

This is Mom, Lynn and me in the town square. Notice the stunning scenery behind us!
back in the day and I just handed the arrows to her….

We decided to drive through the hills looking at the houses and the views. We drove by Il Giulione which is the hunting lodge connected to Proceno Castle. Unbelievable place. Room for a dozen, a pool and enough places to just lounge for a week. Carlo, Pucci’s son, runs the place and happened to be there when we drove past so he gave us a tour.

Back to the flat for a while as we needed to rest up for dinner. We drove over to the next town called Centeno to a restaurant called La Dogana. Oh my! It is run by a family. The sons serve while Papa cooks the meat over an open fire. Add that to salad and the house wine, one couldn’t ask for better. Then, just when I thought I couldn’t ask for more, Papa brought over homemade limoncello. Sigh - what a way to end the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

ViewView
View

From the town square.
CastleCastle
Castle

One of the many vistas we feasted our eyes on.
CastleCastle
Castle

The building itself.
CastleCastle
Castle

From the top of the tower.
Maid MarionMaid Marion
Maid Marion

Or so I would like to believe!
Viva ItaliaViva Italia
Viva Italia

How one knows for sure that one is in Italy!
Il GiulioneIl Giulione
Il Giulione

The hunting lodge -- rather like the cottages in Newport.
Two GenerationsTwo Generations
Two Generations

I think Mom and I look as though we belong in Italy.
PapaPapa
Papa

This is Papa cooking over the open fire. We were seated about ten yards away.
PapaPapa
Papa

This is the result of his cooking. Lynn tells me she dreams about it all year. I completely understand that.


Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb