Pisa - a compact attraction


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
May 21st 2011
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The DuomoThe DuomoThe Duomo

The facade in all its glory
After parking in a grotty city centre car park and wandering along an untractive urban street we turned the corner to be met with not one but four splendid monuments. We were in the "Field of Miracles" lying to the northwest of the city centre of Pisa. Not only were we admiring the world famous Leaning Tower but also the Duomo, begun in 1063, the Baptistry, started in 1152, and the Campo Santo cemetery ,begun in 1278. Each has a story to tell.
Campo Santo contains earth from the Holy Land also as the rich and famous of the city of Pisa. The Baptistry is still used for baptisms as well as concerts as it has unrivalled acoustics.
The Duomo has a glorious facade with coloured sandstone decorated with inticate flowers and animals in inlaid marble.
The Leaning Tower has a 38cm tilt and has recently undergone major engineering interventions as well as a good clean. It is open to the public who are able to climb to the top of this glorious bell tower but due to demand timed tickets mean that could be a couple of hours before one is able to get in and begin the ascent of 55 metres.
We were only in Pisa for the morning and so the timing did not allow us to experience the ascent and sloping views. There is always a next time!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



24th May 2011

Been there!
I stayed in Pisa on business when we were all working in Kuwait. I stayed at a really nice hotel not far from the leaning tower. The tower was smaller than I expected. I remember having lunch in my hotel and getting a bit tipsy on the wine. I was on my own and had to exit the restaurant via a highly polished dance floor - I was sure I'd slip and make a fool of myself but I made it back to my room safely! I avoided the alcohol for the next few days. Will you be going to Milan? Wish we were both with you in Italy, it looks lovely. Loads of love Glo (and Bryce) xxx

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb