Leaning Tower (Day 77)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

tower1tower1tower1

something looks off
Took the train out to Pisa for the day as I really had nothing else to do here in Florence. I figured it would be worth it to see the tower even though I was set up for disappointment. I did not realize just how big Pisa was and it did appear that the town actually did have more to offer than the tower. The area along the river looked quite nice but I was in a bit of the hurry so I just sought out the tower.

I turned the corner and saw it and could not help but say that damn thing does really lean. How has that not fallen over? I know the one side is weighed down now but still. It's pretty damn cool to see in person ha and I took back what I said about it before. Personally, I think they should just let it fall and not mess with nature but that's just me. At least I got my pictures in just in case it does bite the dust some day. Took my train back to Florence and booked my train ride to Rome a little later in the evening. I had originally had 4 nights booked in Florence but I got a little tired of the place and the hostel was expensive so I was planning on heading south, hopping off the train in a small town and just camping out in the nearby fields. Saves some money and figured it would be worth the experience.

Just because of timing I ended up getting on a high speed train to Rome with no stops so that plan was out the window. Made it over to the edge of the Villa Borghese park in Rome and accidentally walked upon a piano concert at the foot of the Spanish Steps. Was a nice way to spend the remainder of the evening before heading over to the edge of the park where I had earlier picked out a nice little spot to "camp". Had a nice flat spot out of sight from everyone else and set up shop. Was pretty tired and after a little reading I was soon asleep under the stars. Actually got a pretty good night sleep and got to check something off the bucket list I created for the rest of my trip with help from the girls on the
river1river1river1

river through pisa
way to Siena. Great success.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

stepssteps
steps

concert on the spanish steps
parkpark
park

the camp site in the villa borghese park


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb