Visit to Pisa (and in with the new)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
July 9th 2021
Published: July 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

I stayed in a new place called the Train station hostel, which was so pleasant to stay in and conveniently located that I extended my trip in Pisa.

I met my ex flatmate who I had lived with in Il Merlo from February to May. His name is Francesco, and it's the first time we've met outside of our accomodation before, mainly because we were not allowed to during the restrictions and everything was closed. We met up at a Pizza place. It was his suggestion, and a great choice. Then we had ice cream in another place and I had a coffee.

I cycled from Pisa centre out to the coast at Tirrenia, which is a flat path passing through beautiful fields, allotments, and farmland. I cycle through it every season of the year and the greenery always looks a bit different.

The highlight of this was the fields of sunflowers. I hadn't passed through the path before whilst the sunflowers were in bloom. I also discovered a new rocky beach which was deep enough to swim in, a new cafe called Tiffany's once I reached Tirrenia in which the owners were really kind, and I discovered a new rock on the beach on which I can sunbathe as it fits my body shape well. Also when the sea is a bit rough I get sprinkled by drops of sea water.. but I don't get submerged or washed away by the sea.

I met a guy called Matteo. He is Italian but is studying in Gothenburg in Sweden for 4 years. We met in the hostel's kitchen and spent a good hour or so making comparisons between different aspects of Swedish and Italian society, and we both talked about our experiences of Gothenburg. We had breakfast together in a local cafe, exchanged numbers and I learned a new eating habit. I noticed for breakfast that he ordered an empty croissant and a cappuccino, and dipped the croissant in cappuccino . I don't much like Italian breakfasts but this may be a delicious solution to my problem.. I tried it the next morning when I was alone, and I confirm that this is the breakfast innovation that I had been longing for!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb