Day 6 - What's a bike trip without rain?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pienza
September 13th 2015
Published: September 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Vista at MontichielloVista at MontichielloVista at Montichiello

With Jim & Marilyn from New Zealand
Our ride from Pienza today was a loop ride highlighting the towns of Montichiello, Bagno Vignoni and San Quirico. We departed under threatening skies but the "forecast" said the rain would not start until late in the afternoon. Yeah, right. I made it as far as our first scenic stop in Montichiello and met up with Jim, Marilyn and Bryce. We walked around the town and started to feel raindrops. Jim, Marilyn and Bryce decided to call it a day and head back to the hotel in Pienza. I decided to press on. The rain started in earnest with a little thunder and lightning thrown in for good measure. I made it to Bagno Vignoni where the trip leaders had planned a picnic for today in a park. Plan B was to eat the picnic under a shelter overlooking the thermal waters. I enjoyed a delicious espresso to warm up from the rain. At this point, I had planned to do an extra 22 mile loop with Pierre, the guide on bike riding duty, but decided against that as I did not want to be descending the hills in the rain and/or wet roads. It stopped raining around 1 PM, so
Bagno VignoniBagno VignoniBagno Vignoni

Enrich and Thrrmal baths
3 of us followed Enrico, the guide in charge of laying down the chalk arrows for us, for the remainder of the route. By the time I reached San Quirico, the sun had come out! I spent an hour exploring San Quirico, the highlight being Palazzo Chigi (named after the family for which the Medici gave the town of San Quirico). There were frescoes on the ceilings in at least 10 of the rooms and I was the only one there! I also discovered upon returning to my hotel room and consulting Paul's Camino schedule, that the two of us will be staying in San Quirico when I return to walk with him. Enrico tells me there is an excellent gelato shop in the town. Can't wait!

Ride Stats:

Miles: 34.4

Avg MPH: 11.3

Total Elevation gain: 2,933 ft

Food Journal:

Lunch: picnic with lots of Proscuitto, tomatoes, and bufalo mozzarella?

Gelato - Fragola and nocciola

Dinner: Buca delle Fate : Appetizer - Pecorino Forno (Pienza is known for their Pecorino cheese)?, Main - Wild Boar stew.?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb