John's blog - Tour de Italy!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Montespertoli
September 27th 2011
Published: September 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Castello di PoppianoCastello di PoppianoCastello di Poppiano

We started at this castle with its 600acres of grapes and olives for a wine tasting and climb to the tower.
(A note from CB - John sent this email to a friend, so I thought it was worthy of adding to the blog, as you can just hear him when you read it!)

You'd be proud of me mate - I did something stupid.
I went on a 35 km bike ride with an organized bike tour fella, through the Tuscan hills.
Well I hadn't being on a bike for 5 years, how hard could it be? It started with a wine tasting and tour of local castle, included lunch half way and there were 25 of us. Also there was a back up vehicle for any problems. I felt like a real professional in my stubbies while everyone else wore professional attire.

I must say, I don't know how any of us didn't get run over and killed by these crazy Italian drivers on roads wide enough for 1.5 cars sometimes only one.
Things were going great up until lunch at a restaurant somewhere. It went for 1.5 hrs and I drunk 1.5 bottles of red - it was all included in the price, which I thought was a bit expensive, so I just wanted value for money.
1st photo stop - professional looking lot aren't we1st photo stop - professional looking lot aren't we1st photo stop - professional looking lot aren't we

This is part of the second group - about 25 in total
I would have had beer but they didn't have any.

Back on the bike and feeling bloody awesome we took off again. Shortly after there was a dozen of us left, the others hitching a ride in the vehicles. Then with only 1.5 km to go we arrived at the killer zone - a 900 m rise to the finish line. Holy f***- hot, dry and not feeling good, courteous of luncheon drinks. Remaining in the saddle to the end, I swear I could have walked faster then I was going on the bike, but one by one some more dropped out and only 5 of us made it to the end. Shit dude I've still got it but boy my bum's sore.

Beers
JB



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

John heading off up the big 950mt high hillJohn heading off up the big 950mt high hill
John heading off up the big 950mt high hill

Only about 9 attempted it as there was no spot along the way you could get picked up if you couldn't manage it.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb