Lost in Tuscany


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Montepulciano
May 16th 2011
Published: May 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We have been driving around in Tuscany, drinking wine, walking all over the hill towns and having a great time. The internet access is not all that great and I have not posted anything for awhile. I can't even do any pictures, which is a real shame. It is so gorgeous, it really would not transpose to photographs all that well, especially with the camera that we have. I will send some photos when we get to a place a little more connected. For now however, we are going only to places that are not in any of my guide books. We seek the true Tuscan experience, no tourists, only Italians living as they have done for centuries. Italian is very close to Spainish, many words are similar. We manage to communicate and make our intentions and wants known. It is really pretty simple, we like good wine, food and a comfortable place to sleep. Believe me Italians understand that, it is all they really think about themselves. We will make our way west to the coast. We go to the less traveled area of Maremma, although it may take us a few days to get there.

Advertisement



16th May 2011

Bella Italia
Michael, just want you to know I have been following your blog postings. I am glad you are now in one of my favorite places - Italia. We were there in 2008 and make the trek to the Adriatic Coast to visit the little village where my father was born in 1927. My Italian roots there (Montorio Nei Frentani) go back to the early 1700s (post maternal and paternal). Even with my weak Italian, I felt so at home there and plan to go back in 2013. I walked the cobblestone street where my father and grandparents were born and we just loved it there. Have a great time!! Maureen
16th May 2011

You guys have the perfect life. Jane when you get back. Call me. I want to hear what places you liked the best. I was excited to be off work 2 weeks. Lol
16th May 2011

You guys have the perfect life. Jane when you get back. Call me. I want to hear what places you liked the best. I was excited to be off work 2 weeks. Lol
17th May 2011

sounds awesome!
good for you! Adventuring with no set plans. I am so jealous. It sound wonderful.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb