Chainti - Day 9 and 10


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Gaiole in Chianti
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 9
Call me Cinderella
I cleaned out the fire places in the main house today. I used to have an open fire in my old cottage, but that was nothing in comparison to the size of these ones.
I did get a little flummoxed by one of the grates though as it turned into a puzzle to put back together after cleaning – my knight in shining came along and put it back together for me though.
Then it was time to do some laundry whilst Jaime put up a mosquito net.
I spent the afternoon painting a little landscape and planning the veg garden whilst Jaime worked on our task schedule. He’s doing a fab job of writing a detailed manual for the property and setting out our daily tasks for us so we can manage our time more effectively instead of trying to tackle everything at once.

Day 10
Welcome to my Vegetable Kingdom
Yeay, it’s Sunday and I have a lovely lie in until 9 30!
More laundry to be done today as the sun is beaming down on us. It’s fresh and breezy, but the sun is amazingly strong. Sunscreen at the ready!

And now its time to tackle that veg garden! I start by cleaning out the shed and find a completely intact salamander skeleton and some beautiful old honeycomb.
Once all the gardening tools are hooked onto some nails I hammer into the walls and the whole thing is swept out and tidied up it, makes for a nice little potting shed. I also find a box of seeds with some stashes of dwarf beans, lettuce and spinach seeds.
Then its time to tackle the weeds. A task I would usually run 10 miles from . The ground is surprisingly soft making the weeds fairly easy to remove. Mmmh have I inherited my mothers green thumb after all? I find myself thoroughly enjoying the physical work and happily hum my way through the afternoon.
Do two left thumbs make one green one?




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb