Checking out the town from above


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 4th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Motorbikes galore01 Motorbikes galore01 Motorbikes galore

Car free street.
Geo: 43.6577, 11.4546

Left Rimini this morning and caught the train to Florence. Once I arrived, I walked to the nearby hostel and checked in. My room has three beds, a huge ceiling fan and a small TV. Very spacious, clean and quiet. I was hungry, so I went to find food and discover the city. A few minuets later I came across the Duomo (cathedral) and ate a pizza behind it. Then walked around the Duomo and saw the huge dome, bell tower and bapistry. The outside of the Duomo is made of pink, white, and green marble. Really different to all the other churches I've seen. Building started in 1296 and took 150 years. The dome was mostly covered in scaffolding. I covered up and went for a walk through the cathedral. I found it to be quite plain inside, many blank walls. The dome was beautifully painted. Also went down into the crypt and saw the excavations of a 5th century church that was on this site. Very interesting. Decided to climb the 414 steps of the bell tower. From the top the view was amazing. I could see many churches, domes, towers, and surrounding hills. Following my map
02 First glimpse02 First glimpse02 First glimpse

My first sitting of the Duomo.
I walked towards the Arno river. I came across Palzzo Vecchio and saw a copy of Michaelangelo's David out the front. Beside the palace was the Uffizi Gallery with a long line of people waiting! Came to the river and to the right was Ponte Vecchio. The bridge is full of jewellery shops. Walking further I came across one of the Medici's palaces. I walked back to the hostel and met my roomies. I was very excited about being in Florence and knew that this city was going to keep me busy for the next few days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

03 Three in one03 Three in one
03 Three in one

Bapistry, Duomo and Bell Tower.
04 Dome04 Dome
04 Dome

Frescos on the dome.
05 Mosaics05 Mosaics
05 Mosaics

Mosaics and foundations of the 5th century church that was discovered below the cathedral.
06 Marble06 Marble
06 Marble

This shows the pink, green and white marble of the cathedral.
07 Bapistry07 Bapistry
07 Bapistry

Looking down at the bapistry.
08 Front of the cathedral08 Front of the cathedral
08 Front of the cathedral

This is the side of the facade of the cathedral and the surrounding hills in the background.
09 Hilltop villages09 Hilltop villages
09 Hilltop villages

Small villages, just out of the city.
10 Dome10 Dome
10 Dome

The top of the dome is higher than the bell tower and covered in scaffolding!
11 Looking out11 Looking out
11 Looking out

Took this photo on the way down the bell tower. In the middle is a nearby tower.
12 Straight up12 Straight up
12 Straight up

Looking straight up at the bell tower.
13 Duomo13 Duomo
13 Duomo

The front of the duomo.
14 Cathedral and tower14 Cathedral and tower
14 Cathedral and tower

The cathedral and the bell tower.
15 Palazzo Vecchio15 Palazzo Vecchio
15 Palazzo Vecchio

Translation- old palace. Out the front is the copy of David.
16 Medusa16 Medusa
16 Medusa

Statue of medusa after she lost her head.
17 Uffizi Gallery17 Uffizi Gallery
17 Uffizi Gallery

To the right is the Uffizi Gallery and at the end is the old palace.
18 Ponte Vecchio18 Ponte Vecchio
18 Ponte Vecchio

The old bridge.
19 Other side19 Other side
19 Other side

The other side of Ponte Vecchio.
20 Everywhere!20 Everywhere!
20 Everywhere!

The duomo- visible from everywhere in Florence!


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb