An Italian Update from Amy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 4th 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ciao!!
Since Rudi wrote the last few blogs I thought I would steal these minutes to give you my take on Venice and Florence. Thankfully we learned that we have free wi-fi at our hotel in Florence and the air conditioned lobby enticed me enough to take a break from pounding the pavement.
Where do I start about Venice? I will try to upload pictures but even pictures don't give the beauty of Venice the justice it deserves. It is truly amazing that these buildings line the water although not surprising that most of the first floors are vacant because they are always wet. Since Venice is sinking a little every century they are doing what they can to preserve the buildings and it only makes sense to sacrifice the first floor.
We spent 2 days exploring Venice and getting lost in the maze of "streets" many of which are so narrow it was not possible to walk side by side. There were lively and quite courtyards and many small patios and benches to people watch! This is also where we had our first plate of authentic Italian spaghetti and wow, it is delicious!! It tastes very different from pasta at home and we realized that we eat our pasta with way too much sauce.
Rudi and I treated ourselves to a Gondola ride and as we explored the quiet canals that we would never have seen by foot we were serenaded by our Gondalier. It was very romantic to say the least. We even learned that our Gondalier was the chosen Gondalier for the Pope and he had pictures on his phone to prove it. Very cool.
Our hotel in Venice had everything going for it but the location. We were disappointed not to stay right on the island of Venice. Having said that, we were lucky enough to take a short bus ride from just outside of the hotel directly to Venice. Its gardens were so fragrant and we enjoyed some time relaxing and playing cards. There was even a grocery store nearby and we bought some fresh fruit and yogurt (for me of course) for breakfast although without a spoon I was left to eat it with the handle of the complimentary toothbrush, ha ha.
We left Venice for Florence and that is where I am writing from today. Florence will be unforgettable. Our hotel isnt the best one we have stayed in and the bathroom gave me the creeps (for those of you who know me well know that I have a phobia for flimsy fabric shower curtains = gross!) but we couldnt ask for a more convenient location. We are walking distance from absolutely everything and not only have we enjoyed the beautiful old buildings but also the buzzing markets with endless booths selling scarves, leather everything, jewelery etc. We have picked up a few things but it is more fun to watch the vendors give their sales pitch and practically beg people to buy a leather jacket.
And Oh the Gelato - and I dont even really like ice cream!!! A small cup of gelato is the perfect little treat, again only for me (poor Rudi). The food here in italy really does exceed ou expectations and is not only much more delicious, but much more affordable than that of Paris.
We will be leaving Florence tomorrow and on our way to Cinque Terre which translates into "5 towns". These 5 towns line the coast and are far from what any city has offered us thus far. We look forward to the 11km hike along the coast from one town to the next, and we will appreciate the train ride back from the last town up to the first. This is the destination of our trip that I have been looking forward to the most! I can certainly appreciate the history that the cities have to offer but I am a country girl by heart and long for the fresh air. Actually at this point I will settle for not smelling urine in the street - I will never complain about the smell of Toronto again! Unfortunately I dont know if we will have internet access at Cinque Terre for sure we do not from our room but we do hope to find an internet cafe. I am looking forward to being near the water and feeling the sea breezes - the epitomy of relaxation and the very essence of vacation.
We have really been lucky with the glorious weather we have been having and we hope or luck doesnt run out!! I hear the same is true for everyone at home!! I hope it is like that when we get home because when we get back i wan this relaxing feeling to continue and I am ready to enjoy the lake. Thank you to our friends and family for looking after our furry children, our house and our lawn. Thank you also for following us along our travels!!
Ciao!

Advertisement



5th June 2011

your journey
It is with great anticipation that we are following your travels stay safe cheers Bob

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb