The beginning of the beginning


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 7th 2010
Published: September 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

The view of Florence from the Piazza da Michelangelo, the river you see is the Arno which flows through the center of the city
OK so finally here I go writing my blog! I promised to start it from the time I arrived but so far it has been a lot of movement and taking in of the city itself. It has been a whirlwind of experience so far being in another country, which operates at a totally different pace than I am used to in America. A more natural pace I feel, maybe coming across as chaotic, when you first hop in the taxi cab and are taken through the driving experience that is more like white water rafting, all the while wondering if there are any driving laws to abide by at all. And then to the just as equally ordered and grounded slow pace of enjoyment of the senses and vitality of life that lives within the history of the city walls, streets, and ancient architecture. There is not one corner I do not turn that I am not amazed. Florence, birthplace of the Renaissance is a paradigm of human creativity. Symbols built into the ancient buildings down to each individual doorknocker are statues and symbols that represent the things we believe in and help tell the stories of how we live
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

The Ponte Vecchio (Old bridge) is the only bridge in florence that was not destroyed by the Nazi's, all of the other bridges have been rebuilt but then one still stands complete with the shop stores on it still in operation today
and connect together. Symbols rich in meaning that are alive and just as relevant today as they were in the beginnings of our civilization.
I am not alone here when I say, along with the friends I have made here, that I do not want to leave, that it would be a dream to live here and work, to have a life here where you feel so vital just by being a working part of this culture and history.
I came here alone, traveled by plane ready to survive and prepare for another type of life. But in place of being alone I have met so many amazing people who have just like me journeyed away from home to be here, and now we are getting to experience all this together. I am grateful to be in a new place where the awesome things I see for the first time I can experience as if I am a child. In this country communication wise I am a child. I am grateful every day for my beautiful and giving family who helped me get here. I think it is with this gratitude that helps me enjoy each and every moment and
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

When the lights come on in the city after sunset
thrive rather than survive.
So THANK YOU



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Old village wall in Lucca, Italy that is built into the more modern apartments
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

The actual city of Lucca is still surrounded by large battlement walls and you must traverse through an underground tunnel to get inside the actual city
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Water spout, I saw people drinking from it, but you can use the running water to rinse your hands
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

The Arch at the center Piazza de Firenze
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

One of the MANY Medici Buildings around the city, the stonework the italians do is astounding
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Me with my friend Feran from class, this is the view from right outside our classroom where we are studying italian right now, Level 1 !!!


9th September 2010

The pictures are great! Thanks so much for starting your blog. It is a joy to be included on your journey. That is right, thrive not just survive.
10th September 2010

Song
Todays Special
16th September 2010

Happy for you
I am happy for you. Thanks so much for sharing the pics. I really like your blog. Good job!
20th September 2010

Italy!
Gretchen, I will be coming to Milan on Oct 20th. Traveling to places in Northern Italy. Hope you are having a wonderful time. Have to hear more. Love, Bob

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb