Thanksgiving in Firenze


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 26th 2009
Published: December 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Megan and I at Thanksgiving dinnerMegan and I at Thanksgiving dinnerMegan and I at Thanksgiving dinner

I am wearing my new leather jacket that I bought in Florence
Unfortunately, I wasn't able to go home for Thanksgiving this semester, being in Italy and all. The Wells program sponsored a Thanksgiving dinner for everyone though since we all couldn't be with our families and homesickness is starting to set in. It was at Accademia and our advisor and his wife ate Thanksgiving dinner with us. It was weird to have school on Thanksgiving and not celebrate it until the dinner. The dinner was very good though, of course there was red wine served. We had a soup for the 1st course, it was an orange-ish color, but we couldn't figure out what it was. Then we had the real Thanksgiving food, turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, etc. The restaurant has an American chef so it was a real American Thanksgiving. For dessert, they had pumpkin pie or apple strudel, the waiter INSISTED on the apple strudel and would argue with people if they ordered pumpkin pie. I really wanted pumpkin pie but he made the apple strudel sound too good to resist so that's what I ordered. It was very good, but the pumpkin pie was much better (and it's tradition for Thanksgiving, what was I thinking).

There were 3
Christina, Amy, and MeganChristina, Amy, and MeganChristina, Amy, and Megan

These are girls that are on my program. Megan is the only one of these that I live with.
tables of people and the majority of my program went, minus the Davidson kids because they cooked their own meal with some friends. It was an enjoyable meal, but I'm still sad I missed Thanksgiving with my family.

After the Thanksgiving dinner Megan and I went to meet a friend of hers at this pub called the The Lion's Fountain. I had been there once before, but only for a minute. It is a fun atmosphere, but it is too small for so many people, but they did have karaoke. I didn't get to do karaoke, probably for the best, but this one girl did a rap song and actually got every word right. They had t-shirts that people had left for the bar, most of them were college t-shirts and I saw an IUDM t-shirt!! IUDM is the Indiana University Dance Marathon that happens every year, I have been a part of it for the past 3 years so it was neat to see that. Other than that, Megan and I had a couple drinks and then just went home. Overall, it was a nice, non stressful Thanksgiving and going afterwards kept my mind off the fact that I wasn't at home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb