Metropolitan Chaos and $300 meals


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 19th 2005
Published: October 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Gadi and Colombian revolutionary Che GuevarraGadi and Colombian revolutionary Che GuevarraGadi and Colombian revolutionary Che Guevarra

Che? Gadi's long lost brother is finally found. People have called me Che Guevarra for a while.
I made it back to London, A-OK. After 8 hours of travel from Florence to Pisa to London, I slept like a babe.

Too much too tell about Siena, Florence, and Pisa, three rather famous cities with many blaring similarities.

Siena, I've written about already, but a retrospective and reflective side of me knows its too cool to skip over. Such a relaxing city for Italian standards. Its much like Florence, its often over-shadowing cousin-city. But Siena maintains its calm when tourists flood this city in October. I never felt like keeping a hand on my wallet there, not did I feel like the store owners tried to screw me into overpaying or buying crap.

Florence on the other hand is just that. Its not everyday that I can be glad to leave Italy. But Florence often makes me bummed. Its just that its hard to walk through the city itself, what with scooters and taxis screaming by you at high velocities. There are gypsies and beggars everywhere that give you the stink-eye if you don't give in. They make me feel bad for not "donating to their cause" but they are so rude and come to you
Look CloselyLook CloselyLook Closely

Motorini have multiple uses, grooming included. God, I need to groom.
instead of letting you go to them. I feel bad and unsympathetic all at once.

My man Bill Bryson, travel writer extraordinaire, once wrote that "Its not so much as walking the streets of Florence, as much as trying to avoid the obstacles."

On better notes, Florence's Boboli Gardens were unbelievably lush in the generally tuscan colored surroundings (SEE PICTURES). The Gardens were free to see on that specific Sunday, and Jayne and I enjoyed the fresh air, and even just slept in the beautiful grasses surrounding fountains and hedges. (sidenote: Jayne flew down to Italy for the weekend to ditch the cold british weather and to see me. Which is really worse though. Just Kiddin)

The Hostel in Florence, the Ostello Archi Rossi is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Anyone going to florence should definitely stay there, mark that down, boyyyyyyyy.

Hmm, Pisa's leaning tower is un-freakin-believable but in a quiet normal town that invokes not any explanation from me.

I'm back in London now where its finally raining all day. I've yet to have a rainy day since I've left the states. I kind of like this weather right now, as I'm so tired from seeing so many places in the last 10 days in Italy. I really could use a pint of beer and some football (British football that is). Sure enough The Black Lion pub across the street is staring me in the face. See ya.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Brothers BlockBrothers Block
Brothers Block

"I know my rights man" "You don't know shit Lebowski" Favorite lines too good to let go.
Inna-gada-da-vida baby.Inna-gada-da-vida baby.
Inna-gada-da-vida baby.

Arezzo Church's giant organ. In the garden of Eden, Ray Manzarek jammed on the organ of God. And it was good.
Hey Arnie.Hey Arnie.
Hey Arnie.

River Arno at it's best. Static.
Kate from SienaKate from Siena
Kate from Siena

Kate made a black pepper minestrone for me and a few others at 3 in the morning. Blew any sickness away. Good girl, she was. So I offered a spliff.
Laughin it off in SienaLaughin it off in Siena
Laughin it off in Siena

Jeremy and I went to Carlie Seelig's host family's house. She studied in Siena last year. We had to walk the half-mile up hill with a heavy box that Carlie had left there. Tired, but still fun.
Overlooking FlorenceOverlooking Florence
Overlooking Florence

Jables looks out over Florence from Piazzele Michelangelo. The serenity exists only when you can get away from the city's chaos.
Good shit.Good shit.
Good shit.

The shitty guide to world religion.
Trippy Hostel ArtTrippy Hostel Art
Trippy Hostel Art

The power one holds in one's hands is immense, when realized. The Hostel Archi Rossi in Florence, where I spent 5 days.
The end of the 300 dollar mealThe end of the 300 dollar meal
The end of the 300 dollar meal

Jeremy's good to go, I think. a few bottles of wine and some digestifs to add.
The Don and his hired GoonsThe Don and his hired Goons
The Don and his hired Goons

Jeremy's attempt at Mario Puzo, with Adam, Tyler, Che, and Ben.
Boboli Gardens overlooking FlorenceBoboli Gardens overlooking Florence
Boboli Gardens overlooking Florence

A beauty, but you have to pay to get in. I'm sure the gardens were built with the populace's money. B-S.
Jayne in Spayne.Jayne in Spayne.
Jayne in Spayne.

Actually, we're in Florence, Italy at the Boboli Gardens. Ain't she hip in that cap?
Archi Rossi Hostel of LoveArchi Rossi Hostel of Love
Archi Rossi Hostel of Love

Jayne and Gadi in the hostel with some other cool cats.
ParolacceParolacce
Parolacce

Bad Italian words abound. Rated NC-17.
River ArnoRiver Arno
River Arno

Girl studies while chilling extendo-bridged.


19th October 2005

Excellent Blog and Photos
We enjoyed seeing your interesting blog and photos. Makes us wish we could be on the road, also. (Oh, we already are. Duh.) Howard and Evi (hello from Switzerland, at Nelly and Edi's)
20th October 2005

Thank you for this blog
Edi and Nelly ad their greetings and wishes
21st October 2005

i love you!
lol. Thanks Gadi! sorry about the box. I'm really glad you guys got to see siena and that you enjoyed it so much. Wish i coulda been there to show you around! thanks for picking up my stuff for me!
23rd October 2005

pimp
did you get your lady friend to make it to italy with you?? you are a sly cat gadi... good work!
17th November 2005

Che
che guevera was not Colombian. He was from Argentina then travelled to Cuba to join Fidels misguided revolution. He was killed in Bolivia trying to duplicate Cubas revolution.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb