Florence has changed a little bit in the last 50 years (or is it I who have?)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 6th 2018
Published: September 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The whole day in Florence! If I had 9 more days here, I Might be able to do it properly. Our guide, Patrizia, met us at the hotel and we toured with her on foot through Santa Maria square, past the Medici museum, the Medici Saint Lorenzo church, through the Medici palace to the Academia where we saw the David. Seeing that statue was the only part of the day in which my 21 year old self and Today's self were one. I felt the same awe and disbelief at its beauty that I did more than 50 years ago. The rest of the day I was reminded how much more that younger body was able to do! Don't wait to come!!
Patrizia gave us a three and a half hour walking tour which ended near in Uffizi Palace museum where I had a ticket for 1:30 p.m. I had a little time to eat and luckily found a cafe nearby and then met Steve and Susan from our group who came in for a bite. We had a nice seated time together--all three of us needed to sit to be rid of our pain!
I went to the Uffizi on my own. It is a treasure trove of art. The lectures by Allan and a printed list from Igor were both helpful in my appreciation this visit.
The crowds are really daunting. In the Uffizi it was not so bad because they use timed tickets. But I would not have attempted the Ponte Vecchio because it was such a thick sea of bodies. And I remember fondly going to the Boboli Gardens and the Pitti Palace on my last trip. We spent time in the Gardens and had beautiful views of the city.

I walked back to the Hotel Rivoli, doing a little shopping for gifts along the way. Karen and I are having dinner with Igor in a little while. My feet are hoping its not too far away. More walking tomorrow in Siena.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th September 2018

David
Ahhh....from behind even. Enjoy Vienna.
8th September 2018

David
Ahhh....from behind even. Enjoy Sienna. (Auto correct)

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb