Italy 55 - eating my hat at Buon Convento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Buonconvento
May 26th 2013
Published: May 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Suzy set off to from Cortona to the town of Buon Convento. Last year as we passed through I had said that if there was anything good there I would eat my hat. It looked the most disinteresting of towns but Glenn assured me that inside I would find some real history .

The journey was through typically beautiful Tuscan countryside. The yellow broom bloomed on the side of the road and the banks were covered with pale lemon dandelion like flowers, crimson clover three times the size of the clover we see back home in the United Kingdom and poppies the colour of red pillar boxes.

We approached the town which had looked very industrial the last time we came . Hence my comment that there would be nothing there. We found the free sosta just beneath the town walls which were punctuated by gates. When you need a parking place all you need to do is look for the motor homes and the sosta is there. After parking the first thing I had to do was to metaphorically eat the brim of the hat as the walls looked really interesting. Christmas lights were still draped around them in readiness for next years events.

Inside the walls the town was just one street with a few smaller streets off it. but what an interesting street it was too. A few shops lined it. A few restaurants served up lunches. My brim was eaten by this time and we moved on. After this it was time to move on to the band around the hat. It was a lovely place and quite empty of people. Another one of those towns that probably looked the same now as it did in the 15th century when it was part of the Sienese Republic .

By the time we got back to Suzy I had eaten all my hat!!!! What a lovely little place with delightful little corners and atmosphere. You can only spend an hour or so there but it is well worth the visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb