This is what living in an Ikea hell is like ....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Trentino Alto Adige » Bolzano
August 7th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

aaa

Garden behind the hostel in Verona. Never had a chance to check it out - no time!
Geo: 46.2415, 11.1918

Our bunkmate Frank mentioned last night that he was traveling with a lady friend. We finally met Sabine ... no wonder Frank was so secretive when talking about her - a cutie! All 4 of us walked to the bus station; Mike and I kept walking (him to FNAC for the internet and me to the grocery store). It was quite a far walk for me but I felt like it.

Ate on the train to Bolzano - an amazing lunch with delicious delicate prosciutto (not too salty). Cheese that was similar to boccocini but it had the appearance of camembert or brie. It was a little bland but provided a perfect balance for the richness of the prosciutto. A little bread and I was in culinary heaven!

At the hostel in Bolzano ... amazing! Most luxurious hostel I probably will ever stay in! A private room with private bath. More like a private college dorm room. While nice, it feels a little sterile. Like Ikea hell .... it even smells like Ikea! No, no, it doesn't smell like Swedish meatballs, cheap hot dogs and lingonberries! It smells like new furniture.

It had a sleek minimalist design .. after a
bbb

Private bathroom!!!! Private room!!! I have never had this in a hostel so far.
while, I felt like I was a mental patient in a psych ward. If you never hear from me after this it's because I've been lobotomized and held captive in Bolzano!!! Still, it's nice to sleep without earplugs for a change.

Walked around ... went to the 99 cent store. A little different here ... much more upscale than Canada (though that doesn't say much). It's got a better selection of goods and doesn't feel so much like dumpster diving. Walked through the produce market ... decent prices. Saw the usual churches ... same ol' crap.

Bought dinner from a grocery store ... porchetta (delicious and flavourful), pasta salad (ok, but had way too many olives .. though I am getting used to them). Had some Dinki cheese - I bought it only for the name; as bad as it sounds. Tastes like those old cheese and cracker "Handy snacks". Ate in the hostel's garden ... chilly, but otherwise a beautiful night. Had 1 litre of juice .. needed a pick me up as I am lacking in veggies and fruit in my diet right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

cc
c

My private bed ... so luxurious ....
dd
d

Semi private balcony, shared with only one other room.
ff
f

Mastro Lindo, the Italian version of Mr. Clean. They got it all wrong - he should have long flowing hair, gold chains and hair bursting out the top of the shirt, and spaghetti stains on his white shirt. Remember, it is alright for me to stereotype because I am Chinese. For all you white people that laughed at my joke - you're all racists bastards!!!!
gg
g

Exterior view of the hostel - looks more like a German art gallery than a hostel.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb