I've finally found my calling in life.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Taormina
September 14th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.7986, 15.2522

Met a couple of Parisian girls at breakfast (Anne-Sophie and Alice) and took the funicular with them to Isola Bella. A beautiful spot ... too bad I didn't bring a camera! Two coves are separated by a partially submerged path that links the beach with Isola Bella. Very unique and very nice.

The beach is gravelly and it was cloudy at times. But when the sun came out it was quite the sight. The girls were nice but we had little in common. It just wasn't the same as Split with Emilie and Aude 😞

It was funny last night - for the first time ever I was the only guy at a hostel. One of the workers commented that I was the luckiest guy on Earth. Now if only it was a hostel filled with Spanish women ... then I truly would have been the luckiest guy on Earth.

After Isola Bella we went looking for a restaurant that was featured in a French film entitled "The Big Blue". It's a movie about a free diver in Taormina - the girls were slightly disappointed that we could not find it. They were pretty big fans of the movie.

We rode the funicular back to town and grabbed lunch at a cafe. Sfogliata (ham, cheese, tomato pastry), arancini (fried rice ball), and a Sicilian cannoli. The cannoli was good, but incredibly rich. A little gross at the end, actually.

We said our goodbyes (they were off to Palermo for the night and then home to Paris) and I went to use the Internet. After, it was back to the hostel. Met a Sicilian tour guide named Salvatore - he gave me some good Sicily tips. It sounds like Palermo is worth more than the one night I had planned on staying there.

I went out for a walk in search of dinner. Found a place selling pizza with french fries on top. Definitely NOT Atkins friendly. Saw some native guys playing the pan flute - good, but not as good as the guys from Nazare last year. I still haven't even listened to the CDs of them that I bought last year.

A very cool night - very pleasant. Kept running into 3 girls that were staying at the hostel. Small town, I guess. Ate like a neanderthal tonight - half a chicken with fries. The chicken was a little dry but the fries were good. I didn't eat it - I devoured it! Munching on a chicken carcass ... so primal and so good!

I was stuffed afterward but was craving gelato. The place I went to was high tech - the names of all the different gelati were digitally displayed. That was a first for me. I stuck with a simple flavour - just chocolate. Good ....

I think I've finally found my calling in life - I should be a sculptor. My tool? My tongue. My medium? Gelato!!! I am an innovator ... this will take years and thousands of gelati to master, but I am willing to make the sacrifice and do whatever it takes. I am a passionate artist! I have already mastered one art form - I can make a fresh gelato look like a half-eaten gelato in a matter of seconds.

Back to the hostel - chatted with a nice Aussie girl named Karen about traveling. We both bitched about inconsiderate bunk mates that don't have any respect for fellow travelers. Nice girl, nice conversation, a nice end to the night. Read a little Crime and Punishment and it was off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb