Eating cassata before appreciating the cathedral of Monreale


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Monreale
October 26th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before embarking on my 10-day road trip through Sicily, I was warned that I would most likely gain 5 kilos since Sicilian food is known to be rich, irresistibly delicious, and plentiful. The traditional dishes I was encouraged to try were pasta alla norma, which is pasta with ricotta and eggplant sauce, la cassata, a traditional ricotta cake from Palermo, pane con la milza, a sandwich made with "variety meat", and of course the standard arancini, large fried balls containing rice, sauce, and meat, and for breakfast la granita served with a hot bun. I had tried arancini several times since they're everywhere and super cheap and I had already sampled pasta alla norma in Cefalu, la granita near Messina, and since I had no interest in trying pane con la milza, la cassata was the last thing to try. We stopped at Salvo Albicocco cafe on Palermo's periphery and I got to try my first cassata, in miniature form. It was decidedly tasty, as were the other treats I tried.

With sweet fuel in my belly, I was ready for some art history appreciation in the form of the great Duomo of Monreale, famous for its elaborate mosaics covering the entire interior. The cathedral was begun by William II in 1174 and is a gorgeous example of Norman architecture. With its bronze doors, glass mosaics, and uniquely columned cloister, it's easy to see why it's one of the most important touristic objects in Sicily. The church's design is unique, being a mixture of Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic and the fountain area in the cloister was constructed by Muslim sculptors. It's spectacular and well worth a visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Beach at campsiteBeach at campsite
Beach at campsite

Yikes! I've been spoiled by the gorgeous beaches of the Dominican Republic, Indonesia, and Thailand.
Pool at campsitePool at campsite
Pool at campsite

Too bad it was too cold for me to use!
Kitten at campsiteKitten at campsite
Kitten at campsite

Meet my 5 minute friend, Whitedotonpaw.
Happiest dog in the world!Happiest dog in the world!
Happiest dog in the world!

Yup. That's an entire slice of excellent, Italian pizza he has in his mouth.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb