Relaxation in good ol' Giardini


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Giardini Naxos
April 4th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Giardini Naxos


For Easter, Allison and I had planned a relaxing day lounging on the beach. Our Italian-only speaking inn keeper had told us that breakfast was served until 10, so we woke up about 9:30 to take advantage of the free food. However, Allison woke up not feeling great/wanting to sleep more, so I went down to brave the breakfast room on my own.

I walked downstairs and into the room where he indicated we should come for breakfast, and found a cute little dining area, nicely decorated with lots of paintings of beautiful nature scenery. There were about 15 tables, all set, and a buffet with plates, glasses, butter, and jam displayed, but the lights were off and there was no food (or people) in sight. I walked into the little kitchen off the dining room and saw two breakfast rolls sitting on the counter. I was debating over just taking one, eating, and running, but instead I went downstairs and found our innkeeper and upon seeing me he said, “breakfast?”

I followed him back up to the breakfast room, where he told me to sit (by pointing to the tables) and asked me if I wanted café. I said yes, and tried to communicate that I also wanted milk with my coffee, but he didn’t know that word. Eventually he said “Latte?” to which I just responded “si” wondering what exactly I would be getting. I waited 5 to 10 minutes, sitting at a table by myself, looking at all the paintings around the room, and I could see him in the kitchen heating up some coffee and milk on the stovetop. He eventually came back out, giving me a little pot of coffee and a little pot of milk, as well as a basket with the two rolls that I had seen earlier. (He had heated them up in the oven though—nice touch.) If I hadn’t been convinced of it already, now I knew for sure—Allison and I were definitely his only guests. This was reconfirmed again as he sort of watched me eat from the kitchen, waiting until he could do my dishes. As strange as this was, it was probably the best coffee I had had since coming to Europe, and the rolls were delicious as well.

After breakfast, I went back upstairs to check on Allison, and she was feeling completely better and well rested. We packed our bags with books and sunscreen, then hit the beach. We found a nice spot with a few other people sunbathing there too—one family and about three old men in speedos.

We had a great relaxing day reading and then later watching movies, then we chose a random restaurant to eat at where we could see the ocean, as well as the gas station across the street. Allison ordered lasagna and it was served pretty much straight out of the fridge, and had bits of corn in it…needless to say she gave it back and got pizza margarita instead.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th April 2010

Easter day
Well, they do know how to make good coffee in Italy! Sounds like you had a nice cupa Joe for your Easter breakfast. And a relaxing day at the beach. Nice.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb