Mediterranean Island Hop


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia
May 20th 2007
Published: April 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today, I set off exploring in a southerly direction. My immediate impression of Sardinia was that it was a little more arid than Corsica. In some places it resembled the Texas Hill Country or New Mexico and in other places it reminded me of Arizona or Southern California.

I couldn’t get over how little traffic there was! It was if someone had set off a neutron bomb. I might encounter 1 car every 15 minutes. Quite a change from the chaotic traffic on the Italian mainland! Roads didn’t seem to last for very long before they merged into other roads. It seemed like I had to stop every 5 km to check the map. Lots of head scratching.

The roads on Sardinia were generally in good to excellent condition. I had been expecting Corsica to have better roads what with the French government’s penchant for building excellent roads but I was pleasantly surprised to find that Sardinia was no slouch in the asphalt department.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Blue SeasBlue Seas
Blue Seas

Turquoise waters along the east coast.


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb