Anyone for Snails?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia » Cagliari
September 28th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been far too long since my trip to Sardinia and I am appalled that it has taken so long to update my final destination on my 7 week backpack but I guess better late than never.
After weeks and weeks of partying like no tomorrow, I left Croatia bound for Bari on the east coast of Italy via boat. I took a plunge 10 weeks earlier and booked a cabin room on the boat, which although expensive, well worth it for comfort and a chance for some catch up sleep. The boat ride was 9 hours long and after my experience from Athens to Santorini I was not going to sit on the hard floor for all that time. When I finally got to Bari I had booked myself into a very nice hotel which had to change my room because when I walked into the first room they gave me part of the roof fell in. But once all sorted I slept, slept, slept. It was a sunday in Italy and there was not much to do in Bari so I was rather bored waiting for the day to go by so that I could catch my plane. But finally the time came and before I knew it I had landed in Alghero, Sardegna.
My first night was spent alone in a bed a breakfast which for its old decor and shared bathroom was not worth the 100 euros I paid for the night. But all accomodation on this island was rather expensive. The following morning I was up early and could not wait to meet Jenny and her crew. I was so excited to re-unite with my British Best friend and also got to meet Amanda, Jo and Quyen (sorry bout spelling love). We had hired a car and wasted no time jumping in it drive to Olbia. I was soooooooo excited to be behind the wheel and drove for 3 hours. I MISS DRIVING!
We spent the first 4 days in Olbia and did day trips to the Costa Semerelda and La Madelena. All the beaches were magnificent and the water was a perfect Torqouise blue. We spent our nights eating good food and one of those nights we went to the Billionaires Club. This club is owned by race car driver Flavia Briatore and it truley is for the mega rich. All drinks alcoholic or non- alcohic are 30 euros each. That is equivalent to 60 australian dollars for a drink and YES! that also includes a glass of coke. We nearly Died and treasured every sip of our one and only drink that we purchased. The Billionaires club was a once in a lifetime experience that did not bring the fun label that you envisage. There were no celebreties and only some sections were full. But on the whole a fun time with the girls.
After 4 days in and aroung Olbia we hit Cagliari which was probably my favourite part of Sardegna. The beaches were as good with some waves and the perfect temperature to walk into. The town was fantastico and a highlight was the food. The bed and breakfast owner recommended this bistro style seafood restaurant that didn't give us a menu but sent us a feast. We were so full after the antipasta and pasta we could not fit in the main meal and had to return for a second night of whole fish. It was an entertaining night with a man on guitar and a bucks party of 15 sitting next to us!!!! On our final night we found an outdoor bar with large day beds and sat and sipped cocktails. Stupidly I left my brand new camera on the bed but luckily I returned the next day and they had put it behind the bar. This past 7 weeks had seriously been very unlucky for me with loosing things. But now that I am back in London I wish I was back there and can't wait for my next summer in Europe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.524s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 85; dbt: 0.1853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb