Finding Spicy in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont
October 20th 2014
Published: October 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6695[1]IMG_6695[1]IMG_6695[1]

River Po Bike Ride
Ciao and I hope all of you found yourself with a wondeful weekend! I spent the weekend staying in Torino and explored more around the city. I have been itching to go on a bike ride since I arrived here and I was happy to do so on Friday afternoon with my host brother Davide. We went on a bike ride along the River Po in Valentino Park. We rode over to one of the museums in which, as a English Teacher, have the opportunity to go into for free. It is the Borgo Medievale museum....a musem built around an old castle. We walked through the museum and I am happy to know where it is now so I can go back to enter into the free part of the museum next time. We biked into some of the subrubs of Torino, and crossed over the River Po. The other side of the river is ofcourse much quiter as it is out of the city. The weather was a perfect fall day for biking.

Saturday morning I went to the Porta Palazoo market with my host mother and sister. (This is the market I wrote about in a previous blog
IMG_6723[1]IMG_6723[1]IMG_6723[1]

Real Italian experiene....yikes
entry! The really cheap market with loads of stuff!) I found out that at this market there is a whole fish martket and cheese market....I missed both of those the last weekend I went there so we went there on Satuday. While I was in the fish market, doing what I do best, taking some photos, an Italian man ofcourse pointed me out as a tourist and began to say Kiss my cheeck to me in Italian. Luckily my host sister Susanna was with me and able to translate for me. Susanna and Francessaca told me I got a true Italian experience!....kissing man in fish market on the cheeck. Guess I can check that off my bucket list....Photo to prove it!

Saturday evening was a night of galavanting through Torino, however, it was more in the suburbs of Torino. I went out with Davide, Susanna and some of Davides friends. My friend Stephanie who is an English teacher too came along. Davide told us we were going to a beer party. That was all the information I had prior to the night beginning so I was quite eager to see what was in store for the night. The beer party turned out to be a street party, with loads of tents set up selling beer ofcourse. It reminded me of a small town Minnesota festival. Streets blocked off, people drinking and eating with some local music. So I experienced my first Italian street party....and than that was followed by my first (and last!) Italian rave....a been there, done that, kind of event for me. I have been wanting to go out to the disco (dancing) in Italy, and had the chance to go dancing on Saturday night...so we went. Little did I know it was going to be a rave, or that the night would go until 530 AM. That is rather normal for Italian night life here....and most places wont get packed untill after midnight. Where as I am used to bar close at 2 am back in the states....and rarley do I even do that. It was a struggle to stay awake for the nights events.

Sooo now I am into the fourth week teaching! We have layed out a schedule for the rest of my teaching time here, and one thing I will focus on soon is food in American versus food in Italy. I
IMG_6745[1]IMG_6745[1]IMG_6745[1]

Italian nightlife...
have loads to say about that....I will begin with the different meal times! As it is still an adjustment for me. Speaking of food....last night we went out to a Pizzareia which had Italian pizza that is not what most people imagine as standard Italian pizza, it is cooked in a pan rather than in an oven. The crust is not as thin. I got salami pizza and for the first time in Italy I actually tasted spice. I love spicy food and spicy for Italians, in my experience until lastnight, taste very weak to my taste buds....but I was happy to find some spicy last night! I had tears rolling down my face from the spice....success on fire!

This week we are getting ready for our first big weekend trip to Rome (Which also happens to be Jennies birthday on Friday, big celebrations to com!) Any tips for traveling Rome...send them my way!

Amore, here are some photos, have a good week 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb