Barolo, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Barolo
July 15th 2019
Published: August 1st 2021
Edit Blog Post

The groupThe groupThe group

Marchesi Di Barolo
From Pisa, we made our way to Barolo which was a long drive filled with my father and I playing the name game, a game where someone names someone famous and the next person has to name someone who starts with the letter of the last name. Out of the entire trip, Barolo would be one of the most nostalgic. First, we settled into our hotel (Agriturismo Il Ciabot) which was the same hotel we stayed the last 3 times we were in Barolo. The owner was very nice and actually had a picture of me from long ago. It is walking distance from the center of town (which is only a few streets). It was already evening, and we ended up seeing our friends at a restaurant and decided to join them.

The next day with the rest of the group, including Alessandro one of our Italian friends we had travelled with previously, we went to Elio Grasso which was another winery I had previously gone to and was met by Mariana again. They have a very nice yard and tree that I remember from the last time I was there with my brother. Inside the winery there was a huge tunnel with wine barrels. We then went to Manzone, which I had been to a few times, and then Chiara Boschis, which was the first time we had gone to this winery. We actually were lucky to meet Chiara. We ended the day at Marchesi Barolo. When I was there in 2014 with my brother, people were able to draw on the wall and we did just that. I drew a bird dreaming of wine heaven and my brother drew a wine glass which I ended up messing up because I am an annoying sister. Lo and behold, our drawings were still there 5years later! The adults drank wine and the kids played in the outside plaza area.

We then, to continue a nostalgic trip, went to a little cafe in the main plaza to get the hot chocolate I so dearly enjoyed in 2011. However, the said it was not in season and that they do not serve hot chocolate in the summer. My dad then showed a picture of me when I was 5 and had the hot chocolate and said I had been looking forward to drinking it again. They thought it was really cute and went out of their way to make it for me. It was as good as before.

The next day was 2 more wineries (Ceretto and Paolo Scavino) and we had lunch in the city of Alba in between which was very nice. That night we ordered food from the hot chocolate place, including sandwiches and salads and ate outside our hotel which was very pretty. I ate a lot of cherry tomatoes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

My artwork from 2014My artwork from 2014
My artwork from 2014

It is still there!
The GroupThe Group
The Group

Marchesi Di Barolo


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb