Last day in Ancona


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche » Ancona
April 25th 2008
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I went round the port today, and it gave every appearance of being completely deserted. Probably because it's Italian Liberation Day I think; this Irish truck driver I ran into in an Indian restaurant told me all about it, as well as many other things. He looked somewhat like my grandfather, with his nose and spectacles, but had none of his manner. He drives an eighteen wheeler around Greece, and he's in the Hell's Angels. If he is to be believed of course, but he would have gained nothing from me by lying that way.

I'm now looking into staying in Corfu for a couple of nights between tomorrow and the thirtieth. Failing that I'll do day-trips to the surrounding coast. That's what I did today; just took the train to the next town over, Fano, to find a beach. No sand, just rocks, and there was a thin haze of clouds over the sun, but it was still nice, and much more relaxed than Ancona. There are people always yelling their conversations loud and fast in Italian, gangsta-looking guys hanging around, and cars and scooters just whizzing around at crazy speeds. Probably because Ancona isn't a place to go to; it's a place to go through. It's a major transit point for ferries and ships. There's no beach; the waterfront is covered with the port, and an industrial zone which is labelled "zona industriale" on maps. It's ugly and I'll be happy to leave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb