It's not fun for me.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Monza
September 17th 1999
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm still planning on being here for a while. I think it's toughening me up which will bode well for my long term approach to life--but eventually, I still expect to want to go back to the states. Things are really a pain in the butt here and space is limited. I don't think I will be able to stand living in an apartment forever, you know?

With music, it's a real problem. I don't like everyone watching my every move and bitching if they hear music after 9, and threatening to evict us. It's not fun for me. I'm really worn down right now. This is definitely the hardest thing I have ever done.

I got a part time job teaching english and have another interview tomorrow. I'm on an emotional roller coaster---elated one day, and sobbing the next. I sleep a lot. Maybe that's why I haven't gotten sick.

Funny, our expat friends all seem to recognize from our letters that things aren't exactly rosy right now--but the non-expats are writing us back saying things like "glad it's going so well. You're really living the dream." I want to write back and say "this dream is more like a nightmare and life really sucks right now. it's not easy."

But god knows, next week I could be blissfully happy again. Really, this government is disgusting. It sucks the life blood out of its people like an engorged leech. I hate it. But the people are nice and big hearted. I like them. That's the only thing that makes it worth it.

It's odd though--I don't think I would trade the hard times. I mean, I'm in the middle of them but I came here to step out of my comfort zone and grow a little. By definition that requires me to be uncomfortable, which I am. But, nevertheless, I'm in a bad mood a lot of the time.

I just need some more time and things are bound to get better.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb