Ending our vacation with CNN


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
June 6th 2015
Published: June 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Jessica says you can never eat too much gelatoJessica says you can never eat too much gelatoJessica says you can never eat too much gelato

My closing photo in honor of Jessica K. Pepper
Today was our last day in Milan and on vacation. I felt so ill that I cancelled the tour I had booked because I couldn’t imagine walking around in the heat for 3 hours. I rallied a little in the late morning so we headed downtown to the highly reputed La Rinascate department store so I could look for something cute and unusual for TDB. What we found was Bloomindale’s with more high-end goods. There were more designer names than I’ve ever seen in one place, although since I buy almost everything online I'm not usually in settings with lots of high end clothing stores. Like high end department stores I've been in, La Rinascate was organized into little “boutiques”, one for each designer with a salesperson attending to each of the “boutiques”. In the US, you generally have a hard time finding a salesperson in the stores I frequent, but here there were tons of people trying to be helpful. In baby clothes there was a salesperson for each line of clothing and there must have been 12 - 20 lines of clothing. When you are selling baby t-shirts for $75, I guess you can afford to pay for extra help. I found something for TBD at a price point that I didn’t find offensive.

Once again it was over 90 in Milan and feeling crummy coupled with the weather did me in. We spent the rest of the day and the evening in the hotel. Up until now (9:30 PM), I felt too crummy to even write my blog. Now we’re packed for tomorrow morning and I’m going to do a little catch up. It’s been a great vacation, but I have so many wonderful things waiting for me at home that I’m not sad it is over.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb