Torno a New York


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
April 28th 2014
Published: July 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

When I returned to the fields everything was flooded. Luckily I picked out some primo real estate when I got there and my area was pretty good. I helped some pilgrims relocate then took a well needed nap. We attended a mass at a local church because of the weather. The priest was Italian and seeing his church filled brought tears to his eyes. Afterwards, I attended a Polish first degree to show solidarity with our brothers. They took the degree very seriously. Afterwards I ate with my friends one last time before retiring. When I awoke a quick breakfast and I was off. Unfortunately, my cab driver got lost and I missed my train...great! He was very apologetic about it as I now need to purchase a new ticket! I think he said construction made him take a detour. Luckily I gave myself plenty of time to reach Milan so my hour delay won’t cost me my flight. This is where I am now; on the train to Milan. Hopefully there are no further delays and I make it home safely. Well I spoke to soon as my flight is delayed forty minutes! Not the best return trip I have ever had but it could be worse. As much as I tell myself that it has been an exhausting past few days. No problem though as I am here and I am ready at Milan Malpensa. The labeling at Malpensa is horrible. I just walked into the women’s bathroom because on the outside of the door the man was on the left but the sign on the inside door was the woman...on that note I am ready to go home!



This was a great trip for something that was very last minute. I got to experience two papal coronations which may never happen again in our lifetime. I made some great new friends and reconnected with some older ones. Also I got to explore my Italian heritage. A few times the question of what does it mean to be “Italian” came up. Am I Italian am I American? I think at the end of the day I am me. In some ways I identify strongly as an American. In some ways I identify strongly as an Italian. After living in the New York area for 30 years I guess you can say the best way to describe me is New Yorchese and it is time to return home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb