Venice to Milan by fast train


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
June 23rd 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 23 June, 2012

Venice to Milan



On the move again! I easily made my way through the narrow streets with suitcase to Rialto water terminal. Having already done this trip a number of times now, I had worked out the best route without too many stairs (bridges). I only had one bridge to cross, so not too bad at all.



I had pre booked and paid my ticket on the fast train to Milan before I left home. It was a good trip and I was amazed at how fast the train goes. Someone told me it can go up to 280 km per hour. We passed through some lush countryside close to the lakes and mountains of northern Italy. There were some quaint towns along the way, including the town of Verona, a pretty place well known as the village of Romeo and Juliet.



I arrived at Milan Central Station with just enough time to take a tram to Euro Hotel in Porta Venesia where I had stayed when I first arrived in Italy. Not sure whether I mentioned it before, but I’d left my black jacket in the wardrobe there. I realised that when I arrived in Montepulciano and was cold. After many emails, they still hadn’t sent it on to me as promised, so I had to go get it myself.



Anyway, all good… I took the tram back to Central Station, then bought a ticket on the Malpensa Express bus direct to Malpensa Terminal 1, where I was picked up by the free airport transfer service offered by AER Motel just near the airport.



All went well and smooth and I was settled into my room by 4pm. I then took a short walk to the outskirts of the village to grab a coffee and sandwich as the motel restaurant didn’t open until 7.30pm. The weather in this area wasn’t anywhere near as hot as I’d experienced in Venice, thank goodness. At 8pm, I went downstairs for a quick meal then returned to my room for an early night. Big trip home tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Verona StationVerona Station
Verona Station

Unfortunately I ran out of time to see Verona, but I've heard its a lovely place.
On the trainOn the train
On the train

Sometimes the views are a bit hard to take!
AER HotelAER Hotel
AER Hotel

Quitea rural area
AER Hotel, Oleggio, MilanAER Hotel, Oleggio, Milan
AER Hotel, Oleggio, Milan

Free airport transfers to Malpensa
AER Toilet in Lobby areaAER Toilet in Lobby area
AER Toilet in Lobby area

Never used one of these and hope I never have to!


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb