Crazy Italian Trains!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!
So, I am sitting in Milan killing time until my train comes because... the trains in all of Italy are on strike... only a few are still running and so I left beautiful Cinque Terre to come to Milan and wait for 10 hours... sometimes travelling is not so fun!

SInce I last wrote, we went to The Colloseum, the Roman Forum, The Pantheon, the Sistine chapel, St Peters Basillica and the Catacombs... all of this in rome. I actually didnt mind the sites of rome but it wasnt my favourite city becuase of the people... lots of pickpockets and really creapy old men... if you ever need an ego boost, come to Italy. Every old man I have met says that I am "bella" and kisses my hand! (Amy, you were right... the men here are outrageous!)

Next we went to Florence for 2 days, but I skipped out early to go to CInque Terre... more later... and the guys stayed there and then went to Venice. Florence is a beautiful city, full of art and music... and the shopping is superb! The houses are all very pretty, it is hot and the peopel are friendly, but it stinks! It is the worst smelling city I have been to and also the most confusing... the roads dont go straight!

From there I went to Cinque Terre, the highlite thus far of the trip! It is a series of 5 towns that are all along the coast of the Meditteranean Sea... the most beautiful place I have seen here yet! Teh town I stayed in is Monterosso, the alrgest town of the 5, and the town is full of super nice locals and tonnes of tourists. My room had 2 beds and a balcony... I overlooked the water and could just chill on the balcony all night.... I loved it! The hike was also amazing, although a hard climb for the first bit, it calms down for the last 3 towns. I found 2 American girls to climb with who were both Christians and teachers... very cool; we stopped often for gelato ( so amazing here), swimming and picture breaks. I dove into the Meditteranean sea after the climb and it was beautiful!

That night I met 5 guys from America who i had dinner with... they all had girlfriends, dont worry for Keith, I am definately taken by him!( He was the first thing I talked about... to break the ice!) we walked around the town, went to a carnival performance and then went swimmin in the Sea- night swims are the best! From there it was to bed adn then to Milan, where I am now.

I leave today for Paris to meet up with the guys and then to the Loire valley, then on to Paris with Danielle! SO until later, goodbye from Italy or as they say...

CIAO!

Katie

p.s. Hey mom and dad- dont worry, I am okay and super safe!
Jer and Kim- can you meial me your address?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb