Italy travel


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
September 15th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well we’re off…up at 5:00am on the West coast, although one of us didn’t sleep (nope, you guessed wrong at who) and later from the East coast. We were to rendezvous at Milan’s Milapensa airport and grab a reserved shuttle to our hotel in Milan. I slept all the way through to our connection in Atlanta (now you know who) and was refreshed for the next leg. Leaving myself a few hundred tasks to complete on the next leg I was ready to take it all on. While we were taxing down the runway, some rude and inconsiderate person started hitting the call button for a flight attendant. There’s always somebody I thought to myself, don’t they realize the flight attendant isn’t about to jump up and get them a pillow or freshen their drink in the middle of take off! But then it wouldn’t stop. This person was hitting the button like it was a life-threatening emergency. It went on so long I was ready to join the mutiny and open the door long enough to throw them out. … ”Don’t you understand we’re all on vacation…Have a happy landing!”

I was already wound tighter than a … Laura looked at me, shook her head and said, “Calm down, it’s probably just stuck” Not deterred, I was ready to say something out loud in a menacing tone, when the Flight Attendant came by and looking at me with a patient friendly smile you would use for someone wearing a white coat with their arms tied behind their back, said to me, “Sir, I believe your elbow is hitting the call button.”

Dead silence…

Totally chagrined, I decided that I would check my attitude into my rear pocket and sit on it for the rest of the journey. This was no way to start any trip, let alone a trip that contained a unique dynamic (we are 7 of 27 for 17 days and then the 7 of us would be joined by 2 more for 5 days in Rome). Humble, appreciative and happy was what I needed…it was a good wake up call. After all, I was living La Dolce Vita, so I needed to summon my inner Joie de Vivre (or as I should say in Italian… “Gioia di Vivere”?) I promise that my future blogs will represent this refreshed perspective. If not, feel free to comment and call me on it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th September 2007

Aloha
Cool site and great story! I'd say simply being aware will give you the attitude you want! :) I'm looking forward to hearing more! I found a great MOG outfit, similar to the first one that didn't fit, and just knew the sage color would fit E's scheme--in fact it fits so well it's a perfect match for the girls' dresses! :) Guess I've got more shopping to do! BL

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb