Lake Como


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Lake Como
April 18th 2007
Published: April 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I must be crazy! I get off the tour and try to relax at my hotel, but all I wanted to do was go explore the lake. It started off pretty bad because everything I wanted to do (rock climbing, hang gliding, ropes course) were either closed or it was a 2 person min. Like it wasnàt bad enough being in Lake Como by myself but now I was going to get charged twice for it!! So I scrapped that and headed down to the lake to do a boat tour... oops not enough people signed up so it was canceled. I think the tour operator saw the frustration in my eyes because she sat me down and showed me how to explore Como without a guide. Saved me money and she had a ton of good advise.
First off was to go to the castle in Varenna. A steep climb, but I was up for it. The only problem was the coblestone path that I tried to tell myself was like getting a foot massage. Note to self... Pumaòs are not good for climbing! I was rewarded at the top with a falcon show and a climb to the top of the castle tower.
Next stop was Cadenabia to see the Villa Carlotta and San Martino. It was getting late so I decided to walk to the church first and then head to the villa. I asked directions and the lady told me, "you go up and then when you think you are done go up some more." I should have noticed her little laugh at the end because she should have told me is sucks to climb but it is worth it. 45 minutes of jogging/walking/trying to catch my breath I was at the top of Lake Como and so happy I didnòt quit!! You have to go up there when you come to Como. I promise you will be cursing my name on the way up, but will be glad to see how amaing the view is!
30 minutes down the hill and I was onto see the villa and walked to the town park. Both were great! I also went to the Meliz villa gardens and enjoyed them as well. Now I am getting prepared for Zurich and the people on the train will probably appreciate it if i do laundry so that is on my list of things to do! Miss you all and hope that you like the pictures!!! Love,S

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb