Less than 24 hours in Roma!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 6th 2013
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Where I stayed the first night in RomeWhere I stayed the first night in RomeWhere I stayed the first night in Rome

Basic, but clean, safe, great price, great location for what I needed, breakfast included, and helpful friendly people that work there!
Geo: 41.8955, 12.4823

This iPad isn't the best for typing so I will either be making it short or trying to not care about the bad spacing and punctuation... You can be the judge of where I'm at in the process...

I was really blessed yesterday, The Lord had me sit by a nice gal on the flight from Denver to Toronto, her husband was sitting elsewhere on the plane. She mentioned we might share a taxi in Rome as we were going to places close to each other. I didn't commit as she hadn't talked with her husband and I wasn't sure if I should as I had made plans to take the express train into town, but it' s full of pickpockets waiting for tired travelers so wasn't excited about that too much either. So imagine, my surprise when after my upgraded seat guess who I was sitting next to? The sister of the gal from my earlier flight, they exchanged seats and I ended up sharing the taxi, I thought The Lord must have provided so I won't second guess! There is more to the story and will go back and fill in more when I have time.

Now I'll give a quick recap of what I did in Roma, found an ATM that worked, two in the airport didn't! Got a SIM card for my phone, took the metro to Piazza del Popelo, and did the passeggiata, the walk, went from there to the Trevi, Piazza Navona (all the scaffolding is down now..) tried to find the restaurant we've eaten at but couldn't, so ate at Cucina Romana, pasta arrabbiata, salad, and pop for the 10euro special.

Had a gelato on the way back to the metro, got back to the convent by 7 pm, in bed by 8' very tired... Woke up around 2 am but was able to go back to sleep!

Just had the provided breakfast, a yummy chocolate cornetto, tea, biscotti not the kind you think of, just like dried toast with some cheese and Nutella... Now packed and ready to get on the train to Naples then on to Sorrento. Will update as I can!

Ciao



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Some of the sites on my whirlwind day in RomeSome of the sites on my whirlwind day in Rome
Some of the sites on my whirlwind day in Rome

Thought some might like to see this cute little Fiat.
The crowd at Trevi FountainThe crowd at Trevi Fountain
The crowd at Trevi Fountain

Made sure I threw my coin in again!


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb