Day 3: Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 5th 2013
Published: May 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning Nakita and I went back into the centre of Rome. This time we managed to keep walking past the shops and made it to the end of the long street. What we thought was the colosseum in the distance was actually something different. It was the il vittoriano which is an amazing building. Apparently the locals don't like this building as much because it's so big it blocks out the other amazing buildings such as the colosseum. We initially went there to see one of Rome's famous galleries but the line was too long so we just ended up wandering. We ended up walking into an old alley way and when we got out the other side we were facing the Roman Forum! such an incredible site! As we walked back into the streets we walked past Trajans column and the Trevi Fountain where we bought our first Gelato! It was raining today but that didn't stop us from exploring although it did mean I had to dry my shoes with a hair dryer when we got home. We did a little bit of shopping today but only because I didn't bring enough long pants and the weirdest thing I noticed was that people in Italy bring their dogs everywhere, even in the changing rooms! By the way mum I saw my first dog poo on the street and thought of you 😊 Later we met up with the contiki group and had some pasta for dinner and took a brief tour around central Rome where we got to see the Colosseum and heaps of other beautiful buildings lit up at night. Tomorrow we head to Sorrento, Caio!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

RomeRome
Rome

Victor Emmanuel II Monument
RomeRome
Rome

The street we went down to find the Roman Forum on the other side
RomeRome
Rome

The Roman Forum


7th May 2013

wow
Hi Melissa, Wow what an amazing trip. I love reading your blogs. We watched taken 2 tonight and I got nervous watching it and didn't watch it all. Dad laughed .You are doing well writing your blogs . It's reaaly neat to read them. I guess it's hard to write them when you are busy on contiki.Did you have to pay anything extra Melissa getting into your room early before 200pm when you arrived in rome. How's the contiki. I guess you have been to sorento now. Lucky things. Tomorrrow Amanda is graduating. We hope to see her in her gown some time tomorrow. Snowbee misses you and so do we. luv Mum.
7th May 2013

Blog
Yeah it is a bit hard to write them, not because of the time but because the only way to write the blogs is off nakita's IPad and when we have Internet (my iPod and phone keep crashing). I'm so annoyed at myself for forgetting the camera batteries. I will have to go out and find one because I need two as one only makes it through half the day.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb