Rome - 2nd full day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
November 23rd 2012
Published: November 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

November 23 – Rome – 2ndfull day – The ensuite room that I had been in had been reserved for today ( Friday) because of some soccer game in Rome this weekend so I had to move to another room which had a bathroom in the hall. No big deal really….but still I prefer a bathroom in the room. So I had to get my stuff out of my room before 11 AM and take it downstairs to put in the luggage storage space till 3 PM.

So I took it down there and left it and then walked over to the Termini Station and caught the #64 bus to the Vatican. The stop for the Vatican is the first after you emerge form a long tunnel and get off at a wall of the Vatican. Then you just walk down the hill a bit and around the corner and you are in Plaza St Pietro.

I didn’t tour the museum etc since I had been before but just enjoyed the beauty of the Plaza for quite a bit and then walked over to the bus stop for the #40 bus near the Castel St. Angelo and caught it
Ticket machines offer a choice of languages !Ticket machines offer a choice of languages !Ticket machines offer a choice of languages !

Unlike in France this machine in Italy offers a choice of languages.
back to Termini Station.

I wanted to get back to the hostel to be ready to check in at 3PM so as to stake out a bottom bunk.

I kind of felt I had seen enough of Rome for this trip and got on the Internet and found a flight to Athens Greece on Aegean Airlines for $163 for the next morning (Saturday). It departs Rome at 11 AM and arrives in Athens at 2PM Athens time. It is a 2 hour flight but going from Rome to Athens you move your watch ahead an hour.

After booking a flight I got on Hostelbookers.com and booked a bed in a 4 bed mixed dorm for 3 nights at the Athens Style Hostel off of Monastiraki Square in Athens at Agias Theklas 10.

I liked the reviews mainly because they said it was a quiet hostel, had good internet access, and had a kitchen I could use. I also liked that it was near a metro line.

There was a bit of an issue I had to deal with on this trip. I checked the luggage allowances and they only permitted 20kg of checked in luggage and 8 kg of carry on luggage. So I invested some of the rest of the day in going through my stuff again and discarding what I considered could be discarded. The excess baggage fee was a hefty €30 each. So I wanted to make sure I was below the limits.

With all the details attended to I set my alarm for 6 AM the next morning and turned in early.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Cool drinking waterCool drinking water
Cool drinking water

But of course no restrooms anywhere. Don't drink unless you can hold your water : )
I experimented with the foodI experimented with the food
I experimented with the food

I decided to try some food at a "buffet" type restaurant. It was cold and tastless.


26th November 2012

We love the Placka in Athens
Hopefully you'll take the ferry to some of the islands. The ferry's are wonderful.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb