Rome 1st full day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
November 22nd 2012
Published: November 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

22 November – Rome – 1stday – Today I walked over to the Termini Station and caught the “B” line from Termini Station to Colosseo metro stop next to the Coleseum. I bought a one use ticket from one of the magazine stores in the station. It allowed me to use any metro/bus/ tram etc except for the one going to the airport for 100 minutes. I should have bought the all day ticket for €6. It was good all day until midnight. So I could have just hopped on and off from one to the other till midnight.

You can’t buy a ticket from the driver of a bus so you have to have a ticket before boarding the bus. And you validate it at the gate for a metro or in the little machine on the bus each time you board.

In any case I took the Metro to Colosseo Metro stop and came up out of the metro next to the Coliseum. I walked over to the Coliseum and a woman speaking English asked me if I wanted to take a tour of the Colisium, the Palantine Hill and the Roman Forum. I normally don’t take tours but this allowed me to skip the lines for buying tickets. The tour cost €27 and was worth it.

There were fountains all over and I refilled my water bottle but only drank sparingly from it……there aren’t restrooms all over.

After touring the Coliseum, the Palantine hill and the forum I walked over to the Plaza Venezia where the big huge building which is the monument for Victor Emmanual celebrating the unification of Italy is at. It was a massive building.

After checking out the Victor Emmanual monument I walked over to the Trevi Fountain and checked it out. I tossed a coin into it to ensure I would return to Rome, which I certainly intend to do. I enjoy it.

The weather here was beautiful and cool but not cold. It was packed around the fountain but I got a good look at it and then eased over to the Barberini stop on the Metro “A” line and caught it back to the Termini Station.

It had been a really enjoyable day and the weather was perfect.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb