TMNT and Poorcon


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 10th 2012
Published: October 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

TMNTTMNTTMNT

Building a little tent for the premier...I was not impressed.
Last night was a big event in the Franchetti household. It was the first time I came home absolutely bombed after being out with some of the other au pairs. Only KIDDING...that definitely wasn't the first time. Kidding kidding people.

For reals though, last night was the Italian premier of "poorcon" and TMNT! I've been telling the bambinis all about the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and how I used to work at Nickelodeon. It was so strange to me that they had absolutely no prior knowledge of my favorite turtle dudes. So, as promised, I downloaded the first three episodes for them and had a premier night with my favorite snack...POORCON!

Let me explain this poorcon thing. The more I type poorcon the more I'm cracking up. Matteo could not for the life of him remember the word "popcorn". Even today he called it "poorcon". Personally, I'm in love with this new term. I'm totally ordering poorcon with no butter the next time I'm at the theatre. I encourage you to do the same.

These children had NEVER seen microwave popcorn. I know mom, GASP. Poor poor deprived millionaire children. So I got a box of microwave popcorn from the supermarket (this is top shelf stuff at 4 euro a bag). After dinner I told the kids to get excited (it was a threat) for Turtles and I threw a bag of popcorn into the microwave. Upon which Matteo freeeeaked out. "YOU JUST PUT PAPER IN THE MICROWAVE!" Uhhhh wah? I was desperately trying to explain the concept of popcorn kernels in a bag but his Italian brain could not grasp the concept of this savory American snack. Both him and Alice sat in front of the microwave with eyes nearly bugging out of their heads for 3.5 minutes (no I didn't burn it). "So the poorcon is IN that BAG??" Yes yes yes, watch me open it. Put your face right over the top so you steam burn your eyebrows off. Needless to say, they loved their premier snack. As for the show, I'll let the kids speak for themselves:





Matteo was such a tough audience at first. That damn sideways thumb pissed me off. No more poorcon for him. However, today he was totally consumed by all things turtle. He obviously went to bed last night contemplating the sheer awesomeness of this show. The turtles were ALL he could talk about on the way to school and the whole afternoon. He wanted to know the names of every character, back stories, what their weapons are called, etc. He loves it. And Alice wants to have a talk with the writers in order to introduce a girl turtle with fuchsia mask named Leonora. TMNT Italia success.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

TMNTTMNT
TMNT

POORCON!!


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb