Rome, Rome, the Eternal City...a dirty city full of gelatto, Americans and everything doubleprice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 4th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post



Well, I am finishing up my last day in Rome...this city is so amazing. This is the place I have participated in the most ''touristy'' things...paying for the Colosseum and Vatican Museums, but how can you not coming here?! Both were worth the euros...the Colosseum is what it is, you just sort of stand there in silence thinking about all that has happenend in that place and how much life has gone on in and around (and ended) there....the hostel we are staying at has Gladiator as an option of movies to watch and I was almost tempted just to get a hollywood version after seeing it myself. The Palantine Hill is also included in the 11€ cost and it is composed of a huge area where the foundations of the city are located. Before coming here I started to read ''The History of Euorpe'' which I promptly got rid of on our arrival to Paris, to lighten the load, but this is the one place I would have liked to have had it back- and I am too cheap to pay one of the overly aggressive guides that will take you through the place for another small fortune...how's a girl supposed to stay in budget if she has to pay for gelatto and historical tours! Anyway, yesterday morning I got up early and walked (about one hour) to the Vatican Museums, I waited in line under an hour, but that was just because it did not open until 8:45. I had heard the tip, go straight to the Sistine Chapel so you can see it without too many other tourists, well that little tid bit must have been shared with everyone else, because it was still full.... but regardless of how many people are in there, it is awe inspiring. It really does just take your breath away, which is then interupted by a loud two claps which is accompanied by a loud SSHHHHHHHHH and random shouts of ''NO PHOTOS'' by the security guards. There are lots of signs and everyone knows that you are not allowed to take pictures, but they do anyway. I felt like slapping a lot of wrists of people my mother's age...no wait she's old now...these people were under 50. I really was just amazed by their ignorance. You cannot take a picture that will be of the quality of the one's found on postcards, and my theory is that if you are so worried about taking pictures of things you never take the time to really appreciate them in the first place...you must bet there, breath in the air and really look, not just take photos. Anyway enough of that soap box, after seeing that, I walked back through and saw the rest of the museum, which is also so incredible. I hope that my future travels will include lots of art it is really inspiring.

After the marathon of the museums yesterday, I wandered through the streets of Rome, saw the Panthenon, which is also so incredible and had some great coffee in a small shop. Those are by far my favorite places to get coffee, the places near the tourist attractions cost a fortune and have no personality. Last night Blair and I had dinner with Austin and Whitney, at an Ethiopian restaurant. It was really good, they eat with their hands and it is spicy...yum yum. Plus great company. We said goodbye though last night, they are on their way to Venice and then Amsterdam. It is such a small world how I ran into them, I still cannot believe it.

Today is just a day to see all of the piazzas, which are numerous and to finish my spanish book I started about a month ago...then tomorrow we are headed to a villa farm place. It is an organic, self-sustaining farm where you stay, can help out on the farm and participate in various activities. It is also located near a national park, so hopefully we will get some hiking in. After two nights there I am off to Swtizerland for my time at L'abri. For awhile I was sad to stop traveling, but I am really ready to be at this place. To learn so much...

OK, well Rome and the Eternal City calls...off for another day to avoid being pick pocketed, Rome is the first city that I have used the money belt, but it does help keep my mind at ease, although it is beyond uncool, eating gelatto and drinking espresso and enjoying the Italian sun...not to rub it in everyone. Don't worry I have to get of the plane from europe and start differential equations the next day, so I am allowed to brag now. Ciao ciao everyone.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb