Walking in the Roman Sun...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 28th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The first "Folly"The first "Folly"The first "Folly"

After the Cleopatra scandal in 12 BC, all things Egyptian were the rage...this was built by a wealthy Roman, Caius Cestius.
Day three

We got up late, after a somewhat sleepless night....stupid jet lag....and headed for the Appian Way by subway and bus. Unfortunately, not a good idea during the week when this ancient road has non stop traffic speeding in both directions, loudly! We headed back to Rome, and walked for few hours til Bill's knees told him to go back to the hotel. I walked slowly back across Rome, while he took the subway. The sun was setting when I got back...

Tomorrow we head out by train for Spoleto, in Umbria. We will be there for at least two nights, and may try to rent a room if we lkike it there, and use it to base our excusions into Umbria.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

These are supposed to be Jesus's FootprintsThese are supposed to be Jesus's Footprints
These are supposed to be Jesus's Footprints

He supposedly apppeared to Peter on the Appian Way...
The Martyred Patron Saint of AltarboysThe Martyred Patron Saint of Altarboys
The Martyred Patron Saint of Altarboys

I know, there is much more to say here, but I won't...
Along the TiberAlong the Tiber
Along the Tiber

I'm wearing the skirt I got yesterday in the market in Trastevere, for $3.00. Bill got a suit jacket...
Espresso BreakEspresso Break
Espresso Break

At St Eustache Square, on the way to the Pantheon.


29th October 2010

Try again
Opps, put my comments in the title, I am so not a computer person. Just love these blogs Lynn, they are my daily luncheon companion whenever I'm in the office. Bonne jounee! Chris

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb