Back to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 8th 1990
Published: October 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

St Peters SquareSt Peters SquareSt Peters Square

St Peters Square in the Vatican
During the last night in Florence, it poured with rain. This made things a bit cramped, as we all had to move away from the outside edges of the covered areas to avoid getting wet. All the washing that I had hung out to dry was now soaking, but I had to just stuff it in a bag with no idea how and when I was going to be able to get it all dry now. I dismissed any ideas of hanging it out of a train window.

I got up early and headed for Rome. This time, when I arrived, I was not in desperate need of a shower as I’d had one at the campsite before I left. Albeit an extremely cold one. I set straight off for the Vatican, which I had missed out on last time I was here.

Checked out the St Peter’s Basilica, which was magnificent. There was gold everywhere, and the work and attention to detail that had gone into the place was unbelievable. Michelangelo, Raphael and the rest of them had been very busy. Money was oozing out of the place. If there’s a second coming, I don’t know what Jesus
Vatican ViewVatican ViewVatican View

St Peters Square viewed from the roof of the Vatican
will have to say when he audits the accounts.

Next I climbed the stairs to the roof, continued on around the inside of the huge dome, which dominates the place, and then up the side of the said dome to the top. The views were fantastic. I decided that the Sistine chapel was out of my price range, especially considering that I got there minutes before it was due to close, but having thought about it afterwards, I started to regret that decision.

All I had had to eat in the last two days was a box of Ritz crackers, which took my fancy in Florence. I’d stopped feeling hungry, so my stomach was obviously getting used to the lack of food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Vatican RoofVatican Roof
Vatican Roof

Walking along the outside of the Vatican roof
Vatican GuardVatican Guard
Vatican Guard

One of the guards inside the Vatican
Castle Saint AngeloCastle Saint Angelo
Castle Saint Angelo

Castle Saint Angelo near the Vatican
Castle Saint AngeloCastle Saint Angelo
Castle Saint Angelo

Castle Saint Angelo again


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb