When in Rome.....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 20th 2008
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Rome!!! So I arrived in Rome three days ago and absolutely LOVE it here!!! I took a ferry over from Croatia which was pretty cool as well. It was an overnight trip and we got into Italy at 7 a.m. so I woke up and went out on the deck and watched the most GORGEOUS sunrise over the Italian coast. It could not have been more perfect!!! The first day in Rome, I spent at the Vatican city. I walked through all of the museums and got to see the sistine chapel, which I have been waiting for about 15 years to see! It was magnificent. Its hard to imagine spending four years on a project and I just stood there, thinking of how amazing it must have been when Michalengelo was finished....to look up at that ceiling and know that he created a masterpiece. From The Vatican, I headed over to St. Peter's Basilica which is also AMAZING!! It was so big inside and just absolutely gorgeous!!! The next day, I headed to the Collesseum and Palentine hill. Both of those were awesome to see as well! I have some great pictures and cant wait to put them up for everyone to see. last night we did a pub crawl with the hostel, and it was one of the funnest nights Ive had! Well...what I remember haha. This trip has just been amazing! I cant believe that I only have like three weeks left!!! The time has gone by so fast and its so sad that its almost over! im definitely looking forward to seeing everyone and being home and out of hostels, but I am NOT ready to go quite yet....Im heading out right now to see the trevi fountain and the Pantheon and tomorrow Im off to Florence. Ill write some more later, but Ive gotta take advantage of this wonderful city!! Talk to you soon!!! xoxox

Advertisement



20th September 2008

Miss you!
It sounds amazing!! When are you planning on coming back to Tampa? Can't wait to see youuuu! XOXO
20th September 2008

overwhelming Rome
So glad you are loving Italy and that fabulous city of Rome and all it has to see. Knew you'd love it. Sounds like you're seeing all the things there you need to see and when you move on to Venice, Florence, Pisa, etc. you'll be overwhelmed with all of them too. Can't think of anything (so far) you're not seeing so just keep going cause it is going fast. Waiting to see you but want you not to miss anything. How can I get to see your pictures? Love Gram
22nd September 2008

Beautiful Italy
Hi Celina, so glad you are having fun and doing well. Rome sounds beautiful I hope to see it some day. I can't wait to see you the picutres and hear everything your not telling us on the blog. Our friend Kevin got married last weekend at the Wayside Inn in Subbury- What a great place. You need to go there. If you don't kow the story of the Wayside, it was owned by a wealthy family in the 1700's named the Howe's. the story is that the daughter of Howe's died there waiting for her boyfriend to come back from war, and she walks the halls looking for him. Mike says he may have had a ghostly encounter,but he thought it was me.. I was asleep so it wasn't. Anyway, the Howe's later sold to the Longfellow's where he wrote his books.. It is very historic. All of the rooms have letters from guests in the draws and all of the place. We spent hours after the wedding reading them. I have to go get ready for work. Love and MIss you .. see you in a few weeks. Love aunt sue
28th September 2008

I just finished reading all of your adventures.What an experience for u.I miss u so much but all is well here.Poor Joannie has had a tough week,had to goback for kemo and radiatin to the brain to prevent it from going there Poore kid.Say a prayer for her.Thanks.Russell's party went well.Probably about 80 to 90 people came.We are going to Jake's FHS game at four then bringing Cass back to school later.It has been raining all weekend so the football game is today but it is raining again.Got to go.I love and miss u SO much.Bye.

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb