Italy with Kids -Qantas Frequent Flyers


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Synopsis:
• 245,000 points and $800 in taxes
• Return tickets Perth to Hong Kong
• Then return tickets Hong Kong - London - Rome
• Net savings ~$3,000 or 80 points to the dollar

Having only 245,000 points (collected for many years), we didn't have enough to get from home to Rome for all four of us. I had looked at one-way for all four, or return for two of us and hope the other two could get matching flights and seats etc. That might have been nice, actually: the missus and I could have taken one flight and the kids the other ... 😊

So I called the frequent flyers number, and the very helpful lady pointed me in the direction of return seats for the four of us to Hong Kong, return. I doubt I would have been able to work that one out, not knowing where all the carriers fly to etc.

She was very helpful, as I've said because instead of doing the booking and then charging me 2,500 points per person, she suggested I do the booking myself over the internet. So I did that! (a little warning: taxes are paid on top of the flight awards points so there was still a bill, in this case $800).

Then another helpful lady in the Flight Centre arranged a booking for HK-London-Rome, overall saving us around $3,000.

Any suggestions on what to do with kids during two days and a night in Hong Kong?

Value: 240,000 points saving $3000 => 80 points to save a dollar.

Now lets just hope the accomodation bookings come through...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb