Pedro's Blog of Nonsense


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

St. Paul in RomeSt. Paul in RomeSt. Paul in Rome

Saint Paul overlooks the city of Rome.
Greetings all. For those of you who don't know I've finally returned to the wonderful state of living that is a proper overseas holiday. This holdiay consists of a month travelling around Europe, primarily in the Mediterranean. The first week I'm staying in cheap hostels and with relatives. The last three weeks I'm staying in five star hotels and on the cruise ship the Grand Princess. Which will I prefer, hostels or luxury? Only time will tell . . .

Before we go further with this blog I'll quickly explain a few things. I make no guarantees that any stories/people/events/claims/photos that contained herein are in any way factual or fictional. I'm on holiday for a month, which means I plan to spend as little time in front of a computer and as much time being . . .well, on holiday.

As such, the main purpose here is to simply post pictures with captions. Be aware if I don't know or can't remember what or who the picture is of, I'll make it up. If I do know what the picture is, I'll probably make up a stupid factualy incorrect caption anyways . . . for some reason I
Roman ArchesRoman ArchesRoman Arches

First clue I was in Rome were these arches observed from the train.
think this will be amusing. By all means though, pay out on me and let me know how bad my knowledge of European history is (my last learning undertaken in this subject recently was watching Season 1 of the HBO series Rome). Lastly, pretty much all photos are taken one handed whilst walking, I'm not a photographer and don't plan to be anytime soon.

Ok, enough blabber . . . on with the blog.

Rome Activies in a Nutshell:



After around 24 hours of flying from Brisbane -> Cairns -> Hong Kong -> Rome, Paul lands in Rome airport, goes to unmaned train station, attempts to buy ticket with euros, fails, attempts to buy ticket with credit card, gets receipt but no ticket, subsequentely informed to ride train anhyways by staff (btw, I'm scared of breaking the law, have had too many close calls lately). Train ride is without incident, Paul walks to hostel, gets map, then walks around Rome for 8 hours (why am I writing in 3rd person? I don't know, but I'll go with it for now).

Anyways, see photos for landmarks, pretty much saw them all, feet however became very sore. On
Italian PoliceItalian PoliceItalian Police

Italian police have been outfitted with the latest in crime fighting technology . . . that's right folks, police on Segways
returning to hostel, suggestion was made to attend pub crawl, which Paul did. Pub crawl was entertaining, Paul then attempts to go home, gets very, very, very lost in Rome, then takes two taxis (don't ask) and finally returns home. Feet now very, very, sore, Paul wakes up in the morning and can barley walk. Paul then flies to Vienna.

OK people, I'll admit, I'm not really putting alot of effort into this whole writing thing, whatever . . . read the captions with the pictures. That's all for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Famous Roman FountainFamous Roman Fountain
Famous Roman Fountain

Rome has lots of these . . .
ColosseumColosseum
Colosseum

Obligatory colosseum photo
Colosseum at NightColosseum at Night
Colosseum at Night

Obligatory colosseum at night through beer googles photo
Another Famous FountainAnother Famous Fountain
Another Famous Fountain

Everyone's probably seen photos of this one, so to be different I decided to go for a different angle. Genuis or madness? I'll let the viewers decide . . .
St AngeloSt Angelo
St Angelo

If my memory serves me correctly, so named as it is round and hence has "no angles"
Villa SciarraVilla Sciarra
Villa Sciarra

I spent over an hour trying to find this landmark which was represented by a massive white gate looking thing on my map. This is the closest I could find, I'll assume its been buried.
Fonte Acqua PaolaFonte Acqua Paola
Fonte Acqua Paola

The fountain of Paul
Hungry JacksHungry Jacks
Hungry Jacks

I believe "Burger King" is the Italian translation for HJs


15th May 2007

From one geek to another
Sounds like you're having fun oh wise one. Happy travels.
15th May 2007

close calls with the law
This sounds entertaining - please tell more
15th May 2007

Probably the best blog i know of...
No seriously - nice work. Keep the photo's coming - DJBrownski
15th May 2007

Segway Conventions Rock
Oh, it's a great day for Segging! Nice photos mate, especially the posterior fountain.
16th May 2007

Hail Caesar!
Prubin I'm intensely disapointed that there are not more pictures of the Moldavian princess that you met while touring! Please post immediately. All is well at home however there has been a slight zombie outbreak that I have had to quell, Jess is also causing trouble by insisting that we sleep in your bed at night....search me why ;-) Peace out brother with another mother!
16th May 2007

St Paul in Rome
note that Paul of Tarsus, the original Saint pAul, lost his head in Rome...so be careful....Rubins also escaped from Vienna...some of them some 50 years or so ago...so take care there also...and this might be fact or fiction also...continue t enjoy

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb